Skip to main content
The Library

Psychology

Your first stop for research: a guide to resources for Psychology

Library Website

Image of the Library search box

Use the Library website to search across multiple databases:

Finding information for your assignment tutorial

Useful databases

Research databases contain abstracts, journal articles and conference papers on specific subjects. They should be used for searching around a topic and for when you need to conduct a more focussed search than Find it at Lincoln provides. The databases listed below are useful for Psychology.

Look at the APA helpguide for tips on searching PsycINFO.

Databases for Psychology

Database searching tips

1. Identify main concepts and keywords. Search the main concepts first, then limit further as necessary.

2. Find Synonyms (using OR broadens the search to include alternative keywords or subject thesaurus terms):

  • teenagers OR adolescents

3. AND (joins concepts and narrows the search)  :

  • personality AND children
  • children AND (anxiety OR depression)

4. Be aware of differences in American and English spelling and terminology. Most databases use American spelling and terminology as preferred subject terms.

5. Use Truncation (putting * at the end of a word stem will search all forms of the word). * within a word can be used to search both American and English spelling:

  • psyc* (psychology, psychological, psychologist)
  • child* (child, children, childhood, children's)
  • p*ediatric, behavio*r

6. "...." (inverted commas) use for a phrase

  • "attachment theory"
  • "clinical depression"

7. Wildcard ? will search for any single letter in the space. e.g. wom?n will search women, woman, organi?ation will search organisation, organization.

8. Wildcard * can also be used where alternate spelling may contain an extra character. e.g. p*ediatric, will search paediatric or pediatric, behavio*r, will search behaviour or behavior.

Electronic Journals A-to-Z

Use the A-to-Z to check whether the full text of a journal is available electronically - this is useful if you are looking for a specific article.  N.B. Search for the journal title rather than the article title.

My EBSCOhost

Create a My EBSCOhost account when searching databases like PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES.

MyEBSCOhost will allow you to:

  • Save searches and/or references to your own personalised folder(s) to revisit at a later date
  • Create email alerts and/or RSS feeds to keep up to date with the latest journal literature
  • Save references and organise your research in personalised folders
  • Bookmark or share your research with others

For further information see the video tutorial.

New articles

A good way of keeping up-to-date with current research is to subscribe to alerts from your favourite journals.

JournalTOCs is a free service which allows you to set up alerts to any new articles published by Psychology journals.