Skip to main content
The Library

Academic Writing Support

Studying at the University of Lincoln? We can help you achieve your potential by improving your writing skills.

Drop-ins April - May

Monday 13 May 11.00-13.00
Wednesday 8 May 13.00-14.00
Thursday 9 May 14.00-15.00
Saturday 11 May 16.15-17.00
Sunday 12 May 16.15-17.00

Monday 20 May 11.00-13.00
Wednesday 22 May 13.00-14.00
Thursday 23 May 14.00-15.00
Saturday 25 May 16.15-17.00
Sunday 26 May 16.15-17.00

Monday 27 May (Bank Holiday) no service
Wednesday 29 May 13.00-14.00
Thursday 30 May 14.00-15.00 - final drop-in
Our drop-ins end on 30/6/19, so from this date please make an appointment with us .

 

We can help you with:

  • understanding and planning your assignment
  • structure
  • paragraphs
  • introductions and conclusions
  • argument and critical thinking
  • strategies for editing and proof-reading


You can help by:

  • bringing a print-out of the work you want to discuss with us 
  • using a grammar and spell-checker before you ask us to look at your work.
     

We want to help you to become an independent learner, so you can only book one appointment at a time with us. If during your tutorial we think you would benefit from a further session with us, we will book you another appointment with the same tutor.

What we don't do:

  • We can't edit or proof-read your work for you, but we can teach you strategies so you can edit and proof-read your own work.
  • We can't help with the subject content of your assignment.
  • We can't help with referencing, but your Academic Subject Librarian will be happy to help you.
  • We don't hold group tutorials, we see students one-to-one so we can focus on your individual writing.