Essential 3-volume reference volume for starting research projects on all aspects of musical theater, chock full of useful information. Features substantive entries under the titles of individual shows, and entries on librettists, lyricists, and composers cite all relevant works.
Gänzl provides information on the book, lyrics, and music of over 800 London musicals, including contemporary reviews, cast lists, performances, plus pertinent notes gleaned from a study of surviving scores and libretti.
Covers all stage productions with published or recorded songs by 40 composers from Jerome Kern through Jeanine Tesori. Also includes notable scores by other composers, chronological listing of productions, collaborator reference listing, and song and show title indexes.
This follow-up set to "American Song," Vols. 1 and 2 explores the work of major pop songwriters from "Tin Pan Alley" not included either in a Broadway show or film from the period 1880 to today. This carefully researched encyclopedia covers 125 composers with hundreds of entries on each. Entries include composer, lyricist and publisher information. From 1880 to present day.
"Provides information on every musical produced on Broadway since Oklahoma in 1943. Each entry contains a brief synopsis; the pre-Broadway story; the facts of the Broadway run itself, with dates, theatres, and cast and crew; and post-Broadway information with a detailed list of later notable productions, along with important reviews and awards."
A first stop for the researcher. Sections include reference works and general histories; musical theater surveys; film and television musicals; works and creators; performers; performance studies; periodicals; sets and series of printed material; discographies; and recorded anthologies.
Provides abstracts and full text to the periodical literature for a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry--including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, film, and television.
Designed with the working actor in mind, lists every song from more than 300 Broadway shows. Includes several indexes organizing the songs by voice type, song style, vocal arrangement, composer, lyricist, etc.