Skip to main content
The Library

Learning Development: Training and guidance

Finding information

Finding information: successful searching

This workshop will cover:

  • finding books and journal articles using the Library website
  • creating an effective search strategy
  • how to locate the full-text of journal articles 
Skills for success in year 2: enhance your research and writing techniques

This workshop will cover:

  • reflecting and acting upon first year feedback
  • searching effectively for quality journal articles
  • critical thinking techniques to make effective use of sources in assignments
Working with Archives

This session will offer hands-on demonstrations of how to access archival sources online.  

Referencing

Introduction to APA referencing

This workshop will cover:

  • the purpose and importance of referencing 
  • when you need to give a reference 
  • key features of APA referencing  
  • what information to include in an APA reference 
  • creating a reference list in the APA style  

APA is used by the Schools of Psychology, Sport and Exercise Science and Education 

Introduction to Harvard referencing

This workshop will cover: 

  • the purpose and importance of referencing 
  • when you need to give a reference 
  • what information to include in a reference 
  • key features of Harvard referencing 
  • creating a bibliography in the University of Lincoln’s Harvard style 
Introduction to OSCOLA referencing

This workshop will cover:

  • the purpose and importance of referencing
  • when you need to give a reference
  • inserting and presenting footnotes in a Word document
  • the difference between a footnote and a bibliography reference
  • creating a bibliography following the University of Lincoln’s OSCOLA style

OSCOLA is used by the School of Law

Managing your references

Introduction to EndNote

This workshop will cover:

  • how to export and manually add references to EndNote
  • organising and editing your references
  • adding citations and creating a bibliography in a Word document
  • editing your citations
Introduction to RefWorks

This workshop will cover:

  • how to export and manually add references to RefWorks
  • organising your references in folders
  • creating a reference list/bibliography

Maths and Stats

Getting your data into SPSS - Dissertation mini workshop

This workshops will cover:

  • how to get your data into SPSS

Academic writing

Research proposals and questions

This workshop will cover:

  • the main features of a research proposal
  • formulating a research question
Critical Analysis 1

This workshop will cover:

  • what critical analysis is and how to apply it to your work
  • the difference between analysis and evaluation
Critical Analysis 2

This workshop will cover:

  • recognising arguments in the texts you read
  • assessing their quality and judging the soundness of the evidence
  • Formulating an argument in your own writing
  • presenting evidence which will stand up to critical analysis from others
Doing a Literature Review

This workshop will cover:

  • what a literature review is
  • the purpose of a literature review
  • how to write a literature review
Essay writing

This workshop will cover:

  • the purpose of an academic essay
  • the typical structure of an essay
  • how to construct an effective introduction and conclusion
  • how to construct an effective main body paragraph
  • identifying features of critical essay writing
Report writing

This workshop will cover:

  • the purpose of an academic report
  • the sections of a typical academic report
  • how to construct an effective main body paragraph
  • identifying features of critical report writing
Reflective writing

This workshop will cover:

  • how to write reflectively
  • short reflective pieces
  • longer reflective essays
10 things your tutors don't like

This workshops will give you tips on style, grammar and presentation

Editing and proof-reading your assignments

This workshop will lead you through the stages of reviewing and refining your work

Presentation skills

Presentation skills

This workshop will cover:

  • design and planning
  • how best to practice a presentation
  • the elements of good presentation delivery

Microsoft Word

Microsoft Word for long documents and dissertations

This workshop will cover:

  • structuring a document into sections (abstracts, methods section, chapters, etc)
  • creating and managing headers and footers, including page numbers
  • using footnote or endnotes for referencing and creating a bibliography
  • creating and managing tables of contents and tables of figures
  • using outline view to manage your document