Skip to main content
The Library

Learning Development: Training and guidance

Literature Searching

On completion of this workshop you should be able to:

  • Find books and journal articles using the Library website
  • Create an effective search strategy
  • Know how to locate the full text of journal articles.

Search Strategies for Systematic Reviews

On completion of this workshop you should be able to:

  • Describe the key features of the systematic review process
  • Identify appropriate databases, keywords and subject headings (e.g. MeSH)
  • Plan a search using the PICO or SPICE frameworks
  • Build an effective search strategy
  • Use search techniques including truncation, wildcards and proximity operators

 

Finding Legal Information

On completion of this workshop you should be able to:

  • Identify primary and secondary sources of UK and EU law
  • Search legal databases and relevant authoritative websites
  • Evaluate legal information and check that it is up-to-date and relevant

Accessing Archives

On completion of this workshop you should be able to:

  • Consider how archives might be useful to your research
  • Understand some of the practicalities of locating and using archives
  • Use online tools to find and explore an archive related to your project

Tour of Lincoln Cathedral Library

There may be information within the cathedral library that could be used for your dissertation. Holdings are not confined to church history and the 10,000 rare book collection covers every subject imaginable, including homeopathy, philosophy, music, astronomy….

If you would like to see medieval manuscripts and rare books in a historic setting please book a place for a tour. Places are limited to 10, due to the small rooms in Exchequer Gate where the medieval stone spiral staircase is very uneven and not suitable for heels. Unfortunately, there is no disabled access. The tour includes the medieval Library of 1422 with original oak reading desks. The Wren Library was designed by Sir Christopher Wren and completed in 1681 at the request of Dean Michael Honywood, who paid for the work himself.

There may be material within the libraries that would enrich your research, so please contact the Special Collections Librarian for assistance. The modern reference collection can be consulted freely but manuscripts and rare books require an academic reference from your tutor.

Why do I need a p-value?

In this interactive workshop, we will look at a very simple dataset in SPSS and see how a t-test saves us from making a catastrophically bad decision.  The main aim is a deeper understanding of what a t-test (or p-values in general) really tells you, but also to start to think about exploring data in SPSS, and have a go at running and interpreting a t-test and p-values.

How to start analysing data in SPSS

In this interactive workshop, we will take a look at some real data from the General Social Survey, and build a set of steps for investigating that data.  We will chiefly focus on different types of graphs and the p-values that can give those graphs credibility.  It is highly recommended to attend "Why Do I Need a p-value?" first, but this is designed to be a standalone workshop if you can't make it to that.

How to get my own data into SPSS

In this an interactive workshop, you will get the opportunity to enter some data from the General Social Survey into SPSS.  The data you will be entering has been selected to expose you to the full set of features in SPSS' "Variable View", so by the end you should have plenty of ideas of how to set up your own data in SPSS.

Getting started in R

A hands on beginner’s introduction to the R environment. This is for you if you don't know where to start. We hope you'll leave this workshop with the confidence to explore R further.

Harvard referencing

On completion of this workshop you should be able to:

  • Recognise why you need to reference
  • Understand when you need to give a reference
  • Identify what information is included in a reference
  • Create a reference list/bibliography following the University of Lincoln’s Harvard style

APA referencing

On completion of this workshop you should be able to:

  • Recognise why you need to reference
  • Understand when you need to give a reference.
  • Identify what information is included in a reference
  • Create a reference list/bibliography following the University of Lincoln’s APA style

IEEE referencing

On completion of this workshop you should be able to:

  • Recognise why you need to reference
  • Understand when you need to give a reference
  • Identify what information is included in a reference
  • Create a reference list/bibliography following the University of Lincoln’s IEEE style

MHRA referencing

On completion of this workshop you should be able to:

  • Describe a ranged of situations which require a reference and to explain the reasons and importance of referencing.
  • Be conversant with the footnote and bibliography components of MHRA referencing.
  • Identify a range of primary and secondary sources and reference them in the MHRA style.

OSCOLA referencing

On completion of this workshop you should be able to:

  • Recognise why you need to reference​
  • Understand when you need to give a reference​
  • Be able to identify the main sources of information ​
  • Know how to insert and present footnotes in a Word document ​
  • Understand the difference between a footnote reference and the list of sources at the end of your academic work​
  • Create a reference list/bibliography following the University of Lincoln’s OSCOLA style

Vancouver referencing

On completion of this workshop you should be able to:

  • Recognise why you need to reference
  • Understand when you need to give a reference
  • Identify what information is included in a reference
  • Create a reference list/bibliography following the University of Lincoln’s Vancouver style

Introduction to RefWorks

On completion of this workshop you should be able to:

  • Understand how RefWorks can help you manage your references
  • Export and manually add references
  • Organise your references
  • Create a bibliography

Introduction to EndNote

On completion of this workshop you should be able to:

  • Understand how EndNote can help you manage your references
  • Export and manually add references
  • Import references from pdf
  • Organise and edit your references
  • Add citations and create a bibliography in a Word document
  • Edit your citations

Microsoft Word for Long Documents and Dissertations

This workshop will teach you tips and tricks to make the most out of Word for your dissertation or other long document.  

On completion of this workshop you should be able to:

  • Structure a document into sections (abstract, methods section, chapters, etc.)
  • Create and manage headers and footers, including page numbers
  • Use footnotes or endnotes for referencing and create a bibliography
  • Create and manage tables of contents and tables of figures
  • Use outline view to manage your document