Skip to Main Content
The Library

Art History

Library Website

Image of the Library search box

Use the Library website to search for books and ebooks:

Classmarks

Try browsing the shelves for books on a particular topic. Books useful for Art History can be found in the following Dewey number ranges:

708 Galleries, museums, private collections
709 Art history to the present
709.04 Modern and contemporary art
710 Civic and landscape art
 
722 Architecture to ca. 300
723 Architecture from ca. 300 to 1399
724 Architecture from 1400
 
729 Design & decoration
730 Plastic arts & sculpture
731 Processes, forms, subjects of sculpture
732 Sculpture to ca. 500
733 Greek, Etruscan, Roman sculpture
734 Sculpture from ca.500-1399
 
750 Painting and paintings
759 Individual painters and painting by country
760 Printmaking and prints
769 Works of art & individual printmakers
770 Photography and photographs
779 Individual photographers
 
You may also want to browse the history classmarks which can be found in the history subject guide.
 

Ebook Databases

Special Collections

The Zibby Garnett Library (on the first floor) contains the University of Lincoln special collections, including books on the decorative arts. For more information on what is in the library, please see the Special Collections Website 

Additionally, Lincoln Cathedral Library has loaned a large selection of History books to the University Library (see list below). The books are all for reference only and can be looked at in the Zibby Garnett Library with a member of the Customer Services Team present. Please ask at the ground floor library desk if you would like access to the collection. 

If your book isn't in the library...

If we do not have a book you need in the library, please use our More Books and Interlibrary Loan services and we will do our best to help you obtain what you need. More details (and links to the services) are below. 

More Books

More books for students logo
More books for staff logo

We really want to know what resources you can’t get hold of. Let us know and we’ll buy more books and e-books.

Complete the form with details of what you need and we’ll get in touch with you if we need any additional information. Most books will be supplied within 4 weeks and we’ll reserve the book for you when it arrives.

Inter-library loans

Inter-library loans are requests for items not held in our collections. These requests can include copies of journal articles, book chapters or conference papers. 

In order to request an inter-library loan, please fill in the form by clicking on the button below.

Requesting Inter-library loans - update

In response to the reduced services offered by our suppliers, we will be offering a digital only service for the foreseeable future.

Electronic (PDF or SED) versions of articles, conference papers and single book chapters will continue to be sourced where possible, but we are unable to supply book or journal loans. Please note that it may take significantly longer to process requests at this time so please allow additional time for your request to be supplied.

If you are unsure what you can request please contact the Acquisitions team.

 

Make an inter-library loan request