Use the Library website to search for books and ebooks:
Try browsing the shelves for books on a particular topic. Books on History can be found in the following Dewey number ranges:
810 American literature in English
970 General history of North America
971 General history of North America Canada
972 General history of North America Middle America Mexico
973 General history of North America United States
980 General history of South America
You may also find yourself browsing other sections of the library (for example, looking for books on American film). Please don't hesitate to get in touch if you need any help finding a book for your studies.
ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is a digital collection of over 5,400 seminal books in the humanities and related social sciences. Books in this collection have been recommended and reviewed by scholars and constituent learned societies of the American Council of Learned Societies.
Access to a collection of full-text study skills guides. Allows you to search and make notes within books and sync across devices.
Comprehensive and accessible essays covering literature and classics, philosophy, religion and culture, and music. Includes useful reference material, chronologies and reading lists.
Provides access to a huge collection of full-text eBooks across a range of subject areas.
On-campus:- You may see an OpenAthens login screen when accessing Ebook Central on-campus. See our FAQ - How do I login via OpenAthens?
Following its first launch in 1998, EEBO now contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473–1700. More than 200 libraries worldwide have contributed to EEBO.
The Cathedral Library has loaned a large selection of History books to the University Library (see list below). The books are all for reference only and can be looked at in the Zibby Garnett Library on the first floor with a member of the Customer Services Team present. Please ask at the ground floor library desk if you would like access to the collection.
Inter library loans are requests for items not held in our collections. These requests can include loans of books or copies of journal articles, book chapters or conference papers.
In order to request an inter library loan, please fill in the form by clicking on the button below.
Please note: Inter library loans cannot be renewed.
Requesting Inter library loans
We are now able to offer an inter library loan service for physical items, in addition to the existing digital service for articles and chapters.
Some physical items may still be difficult to obtain and there may be delays in supply due to the ongoing restrictions in place with postal services and at other libraries. Electronic (PDF or SED) versions of articles, conference papers and single book chapters will continue to be supplied where possible.
Please allow additional time (up to 10 days) for your request to be supplied.
If you are unsure what you can request please contact the Acquisitions team.
