Selborne Courses

Searching for and accessing eBooks

You can search for eBooks by typing keywords into the library search box and clicking on search.

When the search results are displayed you can narrow the results to eBooks.  To do this:

• Scroll down to 'Source Types' on the refine results left hand menu.  
• Click on 'Show More'.
• Select 'eBooks'.

This will filter your results to eBooks only.  Click on the title of a source to find out more information.  To access the full text click on the 'Find Full Text' link.  You will then be re-directed to a page with a link to a database that provides full text access to the eBook.

If you are not already logged on you will be asked to enter your student email address (studentIDnumber@students.lincoln.ac.uk) and password.  

eBook Databases

It is also possible to search the eBook databases individually:

• Ebook Central

  Provides access to a huge collection of full-text eBooks across a range of subject areas.

• eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)

  Full-text eBooks on a range of subjects comprising the Academic, Business, Education, History and Nursing collections from EBSCO.

Reading eBooks

Academic eBooks are designed to be read on the screen; however, some providers do give the option to download specific chapters or the entire book for a limited period of time:

• Ebook Central - eBook downloads are not available but you may be able to download the PDF of a selection of chapters.  Some titles may have download/print/copy restrictions. 
• EBSCO eBooks - there will be a link to either the EPUBL or PDF full text.  Up to 100 pages of an eBook can be saved for printing or emailing.  Please note that the number of pages available may vary depending on individual publisher specified limits.