Guides: Library: Selborne: Music eBooks

Music Ebooks

You can find ebook databases below - these have been separated into 2 sections:-

Music-specific ebook databases, or Humanities databases which include more coverage of the music subject area
General ebook databases - these are multi-disciplinary but still contain many ebooks which may be relevant to you

Important Note: When you search for information via the main library search box, you are searching across multiple databases, including ebook databases.

Top Tip: In most instances, it makes sense to search for ebooks using the main library search box - see 'Find out more about accessing and using ebooks' for tips on how to find ebooks.

However, if you find that the number of results is overwhelming, or not relevant, you may find it easier to search individual ebook databases, like those listed below.

The video below gives you an introduction to the various ebook databases, guides you through how to search for ebooks on the Library search box, and how to download, edit and save a PDF.

You can search for ebooks on the Library website.

Type keywords into the search box
Select to 'Find books'
Click on 'Search'

Narrow your results to ebooks by clicking on 'Electronic resource' from the options on the left of the results screen:

Click on the title link:

Click on 'Log in to ebook here' link

Music-specific eBook Databases

Cambridge Companions Complete Collection

Comprehensive and accessible essays covering literature and classics, philosophy, religion and culture, and music. Includes useful reference material, chronologies and reading lists.
Oxford Handbooks Online - Music Collection

Find the most current, authoritative coverage of music research with Oxford Handbooks: spanning music theory and sound studies, history, politics and ethnomusicality, including studies on a variety of music genres, musical theatre, even dance and theatre.

Each Oxford Handbook offers an authoritative and state-of-the-art survey of current thinking and research. Specially commissioned essays from leading international figures in the discipline give critical examination of the progress and direction of debates, providing scholars and graduate students with compelling new perspectives.
From economics and politics to literature and philosophy, you can discover more than 1,000 Oxford Handbooks on a wide range of subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and law. With new books and articles published online every month, you can be certain that you are accessing the most current information you need for your research.
Watch the video for a demo of Oxford Handbooks Online
Admin: reviewed 16/07/2024
ACLS Humanities E-Books

ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is a digital collection of over 5,400 seminal books in the humanities and related social sciences. Books in this collection have been recommended and reviewed by scholars and constituent learned societies of the American Council of Learned Societies.

General eBook Databases

Ebook Central

Provides access to a huge collection of full-text eBooks across a range of subject areas.

On-campus:- You may see an OpenAthens login screen when accessing Ebook Central on-campus. See our FAQ - How do I login via OpenAthens?
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)

Full-text eBooks on a range of subjects comprising the Academic, Business, Education, History and Nursing collections from Ebsco.

Understanding academic ebooks

Fiction ebooks and audiobooks

Libby

Libby provides access to a collection of non-academic eBooks and audiobooks for leisure and wellbeing, including fiction and non-fiction across a broad range of topics.