Books and journal articles are great resources for creative practice and assignment research - but sometimes you might need something a bit different.
You can find below specific databases for music research, containing journal articles, sheet music, and audio-visual content.
There are also more general, inter-disciplinary databases which may contain research relevant to your subject or topic area.
Alternatively, you can navigate to our A-Z Databases list and filter by subject to All Music Databases - this includes the "best bets" for music and more general databases.
Important note: some of the content in our Library Databases can be found through searching the Library website, but it is important to note that it doesn't include everything (see all Databases not indexed in Library search) - particularly multimedia and audiovisual content, and industry news - for this content, you need to go straight to our Databases.
Access to full-text journals in the fields of creative practice and popular culture, theatre, film, music, design and art.
Access to all music journal titles from the Arts & Sciences Collections on JSTOR; includes publications from over 15 disciplines and 10 countries.
Indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 220 of the indexed journals.
Coverage: 1874 - current
Oxford Music Online (including Grove Music Online) is a comprehensive reference resource with dictionaries, encyclopedias and companions for all sorts of music.
Indexing and abstracts for more than 200 international periodicals, plus full text for around 160 of the indexed journals.
Coverage: 1864 - current
Rock's Backpages is an online database of music writing sourced from the pages of the music and mainstream press.
Multi-disciplinary journals, reports and proceedings.
Arts Professional creates and curates the most relevant content for those with a professional interest in the arts sector. You will need to register with Arts Professional using your University of Lincoln email address to access content.
Shared off-air recording and media archive service. Programmes can only be viewed in the UK.
You will need to register with the site before you can access the content.
The British Library is home to the UK's national sound archive, one of the largest collections of sound recordings in the world. With over 6.5 million items of speech, music and wildlife, this includes audio from the advent of recording to the present day.
High quality films of leading theatre productions and detailed analysis of play texts.
If you are experiencing any issues playing videos on Digital Theatre Plus using Chrome, please make sure you have the most recent version of the Chrome browser downloaded. Find more information about the browser update.
Access journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance.
Access to 80 journal titles from an archive of hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Project Muse provides full-text, high quality articles for the humanities and social sciences from over 120 publishers
Provides access to all SAGE journals covering a wide range of subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine periodicals.
