Guides: Find: Referencing

Referencing

Lincoln Medical School students should use either Harvard or Vancouver referencing styles as directed by their module leader.

To help with understanding these we have produced a referencing handbook for each. PDF versions are available from this page, and print copies are available in the Library.

Harvard 3rd edition

Download a copy of the 3rd edition of the Harvard Referencing Handbook which is now in two guides:

Harvard Referencing Handbook: Introduction (3rd edition) The introduction has been expanded, providing an overview of good academic practice and the Harvard style. It also includes details of any major changes from the 2nd edition as well as an example reference list at the end.
Harvard Referencing Handbook: Information Sources (3rd edition) The Information Sources provides guidance on how to reference nearly 150 different sources of information. This includes more subsections within Books and Journals, such as audiobooks, chapters in edited ebooks, books and ebooks which are not the first edition as well as journals with article numbers. There is also guidance on how to reference AI (should it be permitted).

Print option

The guides are available online in PDF (or Word if requested). An abridged version has been created containing books, journal articles and websites.

Harvard Referencing Handbook: Information sources - abridged

Vancouver circle

Download a copy of the
Vancouver Referencing Handbook

Referencing management

Reference management

Reference management software helps you to organise your references, and generate citations and reference lists.

Lincoln Medical School students are advised to use EndNote.