A journal is a periodical publication in which scholarship relating to a particular academic discipline is published. Content typically takes the form of articles presenting original research, review articles, or book reviews.
Journals are important in academic research for a number of reasons:
1. Search the Library Website for your keywords. The Library Website searches many of the databases the University Library subscribes to and is the best place to start your research.
2. If you don't find the results you need from the Library Website you could search the databases individually. This page shows some of the databases likely to be most useful for maths and physics, but you can find the full list here on the databases page.
3. Do you already know the name of a journal? Type the title of the journal in Electronic Journals A-Z: it will show you if we have full-text access to the e-journal.
The University Library subscribes to a selection of database collections - the majority are research databases containing journal articles, but we also have ebook collections, film, tv & newspaper archives, and other specialist information.
Research databases contain:
Abstracts (short descriptions of what an article or paper is about)
Full journal articles (if they are part of the subscription package)
Conference papers on specific subjects
Browzine allows you to create your own online bookshelf from our collection of journals.
It's available through the 'Find' menu on the Library website - select 'Browse electronic journals' from the drop-down menu and start building your bookshelf.
Research databases contain abstracts, journal articles and conference papers on specific subjects. They are ideal for searching specialist resources in your subject area and should be used when you need to conduct a really focused search.
Open access to over 1 million articles in physics, mathematics, computer science and other science subjects.
Access to full-text peer-reviewed journal articles (but not conference proceedings) published by Springer. Content from science, engineering, social science and business fields.
Abstract and index database of articles from academic journals covering the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
Access journals, reference works and current protocols covering a range of scientific, medical, technical and professional disciplines.
Full-text access to scientific, technical & medical peer-reviewed journals and book chapters.
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
A digital library providing full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings and standards from the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers).
