Abstract: A summary of a longer piece of work, such as a journal article or report, giving the key facts including methodology and conclusion.
Academic Subject Librarian (ASL): Member of library staff who can help with finding and using information, referencing and study skills.
Alumni: Graduates of the University of Lincoln.
Appointments: A booked meeting with a member of staff.
Articles: Articles are pieces of writing from a larger work, usually from a journal or newspaper. See 'Journal articles'.
Assistive software support: Specialist technology that helps disabled students to access information independently. You can find more information on the Library's Wellbeing page.
Associate Reader: Anyone (aged 18 or over) who is not a member of staff or a student at the University can apply for Associate membership of the University Library.
Author: A writer or creator, such as the person who wrote a journal article.
A-Z Databases: A list of databases that the University pays for.
Blackboard: One of the University's virtual learning environments, an online site where you will find all the information you need for your studies.
Catalogue: See Library website.
Chapter: A section of a book.
Citations: When you refer to another information source (such as a book or journal article) in your work (such as an essay or thesis) it is called a citation, because you are citing the source of your information. A citation is a brief description given in a standard format as defined by the referencing system being used. Harvard, Vancouver and MLA are all examples of referencing systems. Citations are often known as references. You can find more information here.
Conference papers: A collection of papers from a conference. Also known as conference proceedings.
Copyright: A legal protection given to the creator of certain types of materials, including books, journal articles and computer programmes. Copyright limits the amount of photocopying you can do, if any, from books and journals.
Copyright Licensing Agency (CLA): The Copyright Licensing Agency is a UK body which simplifies copyright for content creators and users.
Course: Also called programme (see programme).
Databases: In the context of the Library, a database is an online collection of information which you can search for information. You can find all the databases the University pays for on the Databases page. Look at your Subject Guides to find out what databases to use for your subject.
Decolonisation: Decolonising the curriculum means making it more inclusive. You can find more details here.
Desk services: Staffed support.
Digitised readings: Online copies of journal articles or chapters from books, which are accessed via the relevant online reading list.
Disability support: The Library can provide some additional support to student who are registered with the University's Student Wellbeing. You can find more details here.
Dissertation Showcase: The University's online collection of some of the best dissertations, made available by participating Schools. You can access the Dissertation Showcase here.
Distance Learners: Distance Learners are students registered on courses which are delivered remotely. You can find information about the Library's support for Distance Learners here.
Drop-in: Library drop-ins are specific events where you do not book a place, but are free to turn up at the specified date and time. If we are offering drop-ins you will find details on the Library's events calendar.
Events and Workshops: The Library runs events, including workshops and webinars, throughout the academic year. You can find more information on the Library's homepage.
FAQ: Frequently Asked Questions.
Full text: Refers to online sources where you access the entire text.
Index: An index is an alphabetical list showing the contents of a text book and the relevant page numbers. You will find the index at the end of a book.
Information literacy: Information literacy is the ability to find, use and evaluate information. Your Academic Subject Librarian can help you improve your information literacy. You can find your Academic Subject Librarian here.
Journal: A journal is a collection of articles written by different authors, usually on a particular subject. There are different types of journals: trade, scholarly, peer reviewed or more popular publications (magazines).
Journal articles: Journal articles are texts from a larger work, usually from a journal or newspaper.
Keywords: These are words used to search for a specific subject in online resources such as Search the Library and databases. You can get more help with keywords from your Academic Subject Librarian. You can find your Academic Subject Librarian here.
Laptop loans: You can borrow a laptop from the University Library for three hours. You will need your student ID card for this. You can find more information here.
Library account: All students and staff have an online library account, known as My Library Account. This provides a summary of the books, requests and fines you have. You can find your Library Account on the Search the Library page. Use your University username and password to log into your account.
Library website: Use Search the Library to find the material held in the Library.
Monographs: A monograph is a book by a single author which focuses on their own research. A monograph is longer than a journal article and is different from a textbook which looks at lots of different research and viewpoints on a particular subject.
More Books: If the Library doesn't have a book you need for your students, you can request that we buy a copy. More Books is not available to all students, but you can find more information here.
NCFM Library: This is the National Centre for Food Manufacturing Library on the Holbeach campus. All University of Lincoln students are welcome to use the NCFM Library.
Open Access: An open access journal article is one which is freely available online to anyone. The Library does not have to pay for open access articles.
PDF article: Portable Document Format. PDFs are a type of computer file that have been fixed in place, and are difficult to edit. Journal articles are often available as PDFs so they display well when printed.
Peer-review: Before academic research is accepted for publication in a journal, it is reviewed by the experts in the field to ensure the quality of the research.
Programme: Programme (of study) is the course you are enrolled on.
Quiet study: There are some areas in the University Library which are designated as areas for working quietly.
Reading List: A list of essential and recommended reading for your module. It is likely to include books, journal articles, digitised chapters, web pages and other useful material relevant to your module. From the list, you can link to the record in Search the Library and access online material. You will find your Reading List link in Blackboard and Canvas.
References: When you refer to another information source (such as a book or journal article) in your work (such as an essay or thesis) it is called a reference, because you are referring to the source of your information. A reference is a brief description given in a standard format as defined by the referencing system being used. Harvard, Vancouver and MLA are all examples of referencing systems. References are also known as citations. You can find out more information here.
Repository: The University of Lincoln's Institutional Repository is for the permanent deposit of research outputs produced by the University. You can find more information here.
Ross Library: This is the Biomedical and Health Sciences Library. It is on the Brayford Campus. All University of Lincoln students can use this Library.
Scan and Send: Scan and Send is our service which allows you to receive scans of book chapters and/or journal articles help by the university libraries (University Library, The Ross Library, and NCFM Library). You can find more details here.
Shelfmark: Books in the Library are organised according to a number and letter system, called a subject classification system. This system enables the Library to place books on the same subject together on the shelves (e.g. 658 for management books). A label on the spine of each book shows its location. When you find a book you want to use on Search your Library, make a note of the location (also know as the classmark) so you can find it on the library shelves.
University Library: This is the main Library on the Brayford Campus. All University of Lincoln students are welcome to use it.
URL: Uniform Resource Locator. Also known as a web address.
Volume: Journals are often published in volumes. A volume can contain several issues or parts.
Writing Development: Writing Development can help you improve your assignment writing and become a more independent academic writer. You can find more information here.
Zibby Garnett Library: The Zibby Garnett Library is a small collection of printed material (books and journals) on the first floor of the University Library.