Distance learners are students registered on courses which are delivered remotely. Distance learner status does not relate to the distance travelled between the student's home and the University.
If you are unsure whether you are registered as a distance learner please contact the Library.
Distance learners can request up to 4 items at a time via the postal loan service. Items can be posted to addresses in the UK only and are sent using Royal Mail Signed For to the address on your Library account.
The Library is unable to post Inter-Library Loan requests outside the UK.
If you use the postal loan service, you are responsible for the books from the point that you receive them until they are checked back into the Library so it is recommended that you return them via a postal tracking service.
Before requesting a postal loan, please check if we have an electronic version. We encourage you to use ebooks but if this is not feasible please request a print copy via the Library website.
Books will automatically be sent out in the post to Distance Learners. If you do not want your books posted you will need to place a reservation and then email library@lincoln.ac.uk to inform them that you would like to collect.
Please return books to:
GCW University Library
University of Lincoln
Brayford Pool
Lincoln
LN6 7TS
It is recommended that you return them via a postal tracking service.
As a distance learner you may find it helpful to access a library nearer to you. We participate in the SCONUL Access scheme which offers you access to other higher education libraries in the UK.
eBooks are available via the Library website and are available off-campus. Unfortunately not all books are available in an e-book format: publishers set any restrictions on whether an e-book is are available and whether it can only be viewed online or downloaded for use over a number of days.
The Library subscribes to a number of ebook providers. You can search the ebook databases directly or you can use the main search box on the library homepage. Searching ebook databases allows you to search for content using the full-text of all ebooks, and not just the title:
Provides access to a huge collection of full-text eBooks across a range of subject areas.
On-campus:- You may see an OpenAthens login screen when accessing Ebook Central on-campus. See our FAQ - How do I login via OpenAthens?
Full-text eBooks on a range of subjects comprising the Academic, Business, Education, History and Nursing collections from Ebsco.
Searchable access to a small collection of full-text electronic books (e-books), across a range of subject areas.
Each subject has a librarian who offers support and assistance to students and staff:
Find out who your Academic Subject Librarian is and how to contact them.
The Writing Development team can discuss with you aspects of your written work such as:
We are available for all students at the University. You can make an online individual appointment with us, please see our website for more details.
GCW University Library
University of Lincoln
Brayford Pool
LINCOLN
LN6 7TS
Lincoln Online students can access the extensive range of ebooks and ejournals here. If you live local to the University Library or NCFM Library you are welcome to use the library for study space and the print collection for reference only.
If you would like to visit either library you will need to request a student ID/library card by emailing studentsupport@lincoln.ac.uk. Please include your student ID number, state that you are an online student and that you would like an ID card and where you would like it posting to.
Browse the FAQs or ask us another question on using the library as a distance learner on Just Ask:
