The Postgraduate Research Handbook by
The second edition of this best-selling book is aslively and accessible as the first edition. Advice, support and both active and reflective tasks take the students through the stages of research as well as encouraging them to consider social and cultural issues, such as working with their supervisor and other researchers.
Doing Postgraduate Research by
'Offers a practical and helpful guidebook both for students and supervisors. It is recommended for research students at the early stages of their research studies, because it provides a thought-provoking account of the different aspects of post-graduate research. Additionally, it can be a useful tool and resource pack for advanced research students who want to think about viva and career options after the completion of the PhD...a useful addition to the growing literature of books on post-graduate research. It provides not only a helpful reading but also a complete multimedia resource pack for new and more-advanced students and supervisors.' - Educate Journal The prospect of undertaking postgraduate research can seem daunting. This thoroughly revised Second Edition of Doing Postgraduate Research will show you how to undertake your research better, quicker, and with as little hassle as possible. The text offers an authoritative and comprehensive guide to better research practice and is fully compliant with research training requirements, including the Joint Research Councils' Skills Statement. Doing Postgraduate Research will enable you to acquire research methods skills as you proceed through your Masters or PhD programme. Key topics include: Designing and organizing a research project Understanding alternative research perspectives Doing a literature review Academic writing IPR and Ethics in research Research presentations Preparing for a viva Career development. Activities are used throughout the book to link the material to student's own research projects, encouraging practical `training by doing'. The book comes with a DVD and website which illustrate key features of the research process, and provide further reading and a guide to additional resources. Visit the companion website at www.sagepub.co.uk/potter Doing Postgraduate Research is an invaluable tool for students, supervisors, and all with research training responsibilities. SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills website for tips, quizzes and videos on study success!
Critical Reading and Writing for Postgraduates by
Lecturers, request your electronic inspection copy here Reading critically, and writing using critical techniques, are crucial skills you need to apply to your academic work. Practical and engaging, Critical Reading and Writing for Postgraduates is bursting with tools for analysing texts and structuring critical reviews, helping you to gradually build your skills beyond undergraduate level and gain confidence in your ability to critically read and write. New to this 3rd edition: Introduces a technique for developing critical thinking skills by interrogating paper abstracts Additional diagrams, exercises and concept explanations, enabling you to more easily understand and apply the various approaches A glossary, to help with understanding of key terms. Also new for this edition, a Companion Website provides additional resources to help you apply the critical techniques you learn. From templates and checklists, access to SAGE journal articles and additional case studies, these free resources will make sure you successfully master advanced critical skills. If you need to engage with published (or unpublished) literature such as essays, dissertations or theses, research papers or oral presentations, this proven guide helps you develop a reflective and advanced critical approach to your research and writing. SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills website for tips, quizzes and videos on study success!
Planning Your Postgraduate Research by
This book provides researchers with the skills and knowledge needed to successfully accomplish milestones during the early stages of research activity. Specifically, it assists researchers in developing a skill set that includes developing a research question, writing the literature review, choosing a methodology, and creating a research proposal.
Study Skills for International Postgraduates by
Destined to become a life saver for international students everywhere, this book provides clear, comprehensive guidance for students embarking on postgraduate study at a western university. Helping to maximise your chances of academic success, topics include challenges such as critical thinking, research, writing and speaking skills.
The Essential Guide to Postgraduate Study by
"To do justice to the postgraduate journey as experienced by the students, quotations and anecdotes from the author's own research ... are drawn upon. These anecdotes provide vivid insights into the postgraduate experience, thereby livening up the text and providing some solace to those facing similar issues in their postgraduate existence' - Education and Training Journal For anyone embarking on postgraduate study, this is an indispensable guide. Packed with hands-on advice and examples from students themselves, David Wilkinson provides: Up-to-date information on developments in postgraduate study Guidance on where and how to apply Advice on constructing effective research proposals, with examples of successful submissions Help with developing an academic writing style and advice on how to get published. While each consecutive chapter develops and builds upon its predecessor, the book has been designed to be easy to 'dip into' to help resolve a problem or examine an issue of relevance to a particular stage of the process. Detailed yet highly accessible, The Essential Guide to Postgraduate Study is a 'must-have' resource for prospective postgraduates, current postgraduates and anyone interested in better understanding postgraduate study in UK universities and colleges. SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills website for tips, quizzes and videos on study success!
How to Manage Your Postgraduate Course by
This book is designed to help readers to make the transition from a first degree or from the workplace to a postgraduate course. It focuses on the management of the processes involved in gaining a postgraduate qualification, rather than just outlining the mechanics of the studying and research. International in its approach, the book encourages readers to assess, in a systematic way, the transferable skills that they can develop as part of their course, an area of personal development that is of increasing importance.
How to Write a Master's Thesis by
Yvonne N. Bui's How to Write a Master's Thesis is a step-by-step guidebook that demystifies a process that can often prove to be overwhelming and confusing to graduate students. The tone and format of this applied book is reader-friendly and includes practical suggestions that go beyond informing what "should" be done. It is chock full of detailed explanations, examples, and supplemental materials that have been used successfully in advising students in completing their master's theses.
Study Skills for Master's Level Students, Revised Edition by
This revised edition of Study Skills for Master's Level Students uses reflectiveexercises to help students learn the skills required to make the transition from undergraduate to postgraduate thinking and writing."
The 30 Day MBA in Business Finance by
The 30 Day MBA in Business Finance provides a complete 'course' in business finance, covering 13 key topics which fall under three main headings - the Fundamentals of Business Finance, Corporate Capital Structures and Financial Strategies and Special Topics. Learn what they teach you at the world's top accountancy firms and Business Schools and why it matters to you. With guidance on understanding financial reports, assessing the credit worthiness of business partners, determining profitable strategies, raising finance and ensuring proper records, this book contains everything you need to eliminate gaps in your financial knowledge, think like a financial strategist, move out of your disciplinary straight jacket and become a top manager.
Mastering Your PhD by
"Mastering Your PhD: Survival and Success in the Doctoral Years and Beyond" helps guide PhD students through their graduate student years. Filled with practical advice on getting started, communicating with your supervisor, staying the course, and planning for the future, this book is a handy guide for graduate students who need that extra bit of help getting started and making it through. While mainly directed at PhD students in the sciences, the book's scope is broad enough to encompass the obstacles and hurdles that almost all PhD students face during their doctoral training. Who should read this book? Students of the physical and life sciences, computer science, math, and medicine who are thinking about entering a PhD program; doctoral students at the beginning of their research; and any graduate student who is feeling frustrated and stuck. It's never too early -- or too late!This second edition contains a variety of new material, including additional chapters on how to communicate better with your supervisor, dealing with difficult people, how to find a mentor, and new chapters on your next career step, once you have your coveted doctoral degree in hand.
Planning Your PhD by
A compact book offering students specific, succinct guidance to the core process and major hurdles involved in undertaking a PhD. As well as offering practical advice, such as how to shape initial ideas, the book also encourages students to find and value their own pathways and approaches within academia.
The PhD Writing Handbook by
Do you feel overwhelmed by the prospect of writing your thesis? Are you concerned that your PhD will take over your life? This much-needed text will help you to develop the writing skills you need to succeed at every stage of your research. It covers core topics such as: * developing a research topic through writing * exploring key concepts through writing * building a structured chapter framework * completing a first draft * writing clearly, coherently and in an appropriate academic style Each chapter features insights from researchers along with tasks and self-evaluation exercises to help you develop your own strategies for success. Invaluable to thesis writers from a range of disciplines, The PhD Writing Handbook will help you to think more clearly and communicate more effectively with your readers.
Unwritten Rules of Phd Research by
This bestselling book on the process of PhD research provides readers with engaging discussion and comprehensive guidance on aspects that other books don't usually mention.
