Use the Library website to search for books and ebooks:
Try browsing the shelves for books on a particular topic.
Books on Philosophy are mainly shelved between 100 and 200 on the first floor of the University Library at:
121 Epistemology
140 Specific Schools of Philosophy
180 Philosophy: Ancient, Medieval and Oriental
190 Modern Western Philosophy
193 German/Austr Philosophy
194 French Philosophy
The following databases contain full-text electronic books
ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is a digital collection of over 5,400 seminal books in the humanities and related social sciences. Books in this collection have been recommended and reviewed by scholars and constituent learned societies of the American Council of Learned Societies.
Comprehensive and accessible essays covering literature and classics, philosophy, religion and culture, and music. Includes useful reference material, chronologies and reading lists.
Early European Books traces the history of printing in Europe from its origins through to the close of the seventeenth century, offering full-colour, high-resolution facsimile images of rare and hard-to-access printed sources.
Provides access to a huge collection of full-text eBooks across a range of subject areas.
On-campus:- You may see an OpenAthens login screen when accessing Ebook Central on-campus. See our FAQ - How do I login via OpenAthens?
Following its first launch in 1998, EEBO now contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473–1700. More than 200 libraries worldwide have contributed to EEBO.
Access to a free online library of early modern philosophical texts, providing high-quality digital editions of a broad canon of English language philosophical works published in Britain between 1650 and 1830, with provide intuitive software for performing sophisticated searches and computational analyses of these works.
Access to a free and open access collection of works by the great Enlightenment thinker, David Hume, together with bibliographies and links to Hume scholarship on the web.
Oxford Handbooks are a series of books covering Classical Studies, Law, Music, Philosophy, Political Science and Religion which provide students with authoritative and up-to-date surveys of original research in a particular subject area. They offer a critical examination of the progress and direction of debates as well as a foundation for study and research.
