Use the Library website to search for books and ebooks:
Try browsing the shelves for books on a particular topic. Books on Conservation can be found in the following Dewey number ranges. You may also wish to browse the classmarks for history as well
025.84 Preservation of library collections
069.53 Maintenance, preservation, etc. of museum collections
091 Manuscripts
363.34 Disasters (subdivided to include: salvage, types of disasters, etc.)
541 Physical and theoretical chemistry
620.1121-.1128 Resistance of materials to deterioration, etc.
632.7 Insect pests, Economic/Agricultural entomology
661.2 Acids, including those responsible for deterioration of paper
661.3 Bases, including those responsible for extending life of paper
664.02852 Cold storage
664.02853 Deep freezing
667 Cleaning, coloring, etc.
668.3 Adhesives technologies
668.4 Plastics technologies
668.9 Polymers
674.8 Wood use technologies
676.2 Paper products
676.284 Specialty papers, including tissue and blotting papers
676.32 Boxes and cartons, including preservation phase boxes
686.43-.45 Photoduplication methods used in preservation
741.218-.219 Conservation, preservation, restoration, maintenance, and repair of drawings
746.0488-.0489 Conservation, preservation, restoration, maintenance, and routine care of textiles
751.2 Painting materials, pigments, etc.
751.6-.67 Conservation, preservation, restoration maintenance, and routine care of paintings
769.1-.19 Conservation, preservation, restoration, maintenance, and routine care of prints
770.283-.287 Preparation, preservation, maintenance, and recovery of photographic material
778.58 Preservation and storage of motion-picture film
ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is a digital collection of over 5,400 seminal books in the humanities and related social sciences. Books in this collection have been recommended and reviewed by scholars and constituent learned societies of the American Council of Learned Societies.
Comprehensive and accessible essays covering literature and classics, philosophy, religion and culture, and music. Includes useful reference material, chronologies and reading lists.
Early European Books traces the history of printing in Europe from its origins through to the close of the seventeenth century, offering full-colour, high-resolution facsimile images of rare and hard-to-access printed sources.
Provides access to a huge collection of full-text eBooks across a range of subject areas.
On-campus:- You may see an OpenAthens login screen when accessing Ebook Central on-campus. See our FAQ - How do I login via OpenAthens?
Full-text eBooks on a range of subjects comprising the Academic, Business, Education, History and Nursing collections from Ebsco.
Following its first launch in 1998, EEBO now contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473–1700. More than 200 libraries worldwide have contributed to EEBO.
The Zibby Garnett library houses the University of Lincoln special collections, including a number of books on the decorative arts and conservation donated by the late Zibby Garnett. To learn more about what is in the collection, please search the special collections catalogue.
The Zibby Garnett library also contains a large selection of history books loaned by the Cathedral Library (see list below). You are very welcome to use these books. They are reference only and can be looked at in the Zibby Garnett Library on the first floor with a member of the Customer Services Team present. Please ask at the ground floor library desk if you would like access to the collection.
University of Lincoln Special Collections shares responsibility for material in the cathedral library. To see what is in the Cathedral Library, please search the catalogue here.
If we do not have a book you need in the library, please use our Inter Library Loan service and we will do our best to help you obtain what you need.
Inter library loans are requests for items not held in our collections. These requests can include loans of books or copies of journal articles, book chapters or conference papers. Please note, there is a cost to the library for each loan or digital copy supplied, so only items essential to your research should be requested.
The inter library loan service is open to Staff, PG researchers, PG taught students, and final year UG dissertation students or those undertaking research project work.
A maximum of 20 requests per person can be supplied per academic year to PG taught students, final year UG students and those undertaking research project work.
A maximum of 40 requests per person can be supplied per academic year to Staff and PG researchers.
To request an inter library loan, please complete the form by clicking the button below.
Please note: Inter library loans cannot be renewed.
Requesting Inter library loans
Items lent by partner libraries must be returned by the due date and in the condition in which they are lent. A replacement fee will be charged to you for any lost or damaged books and this could be set by the lending library at the British Library standard fee of £214.50.
If you are unsure what you can request please contact the Content and Collections Team.
