Google Scholar is a free search engine that allows you to search for scholarly literature from a variety of sources. It will not provide full text access to all search results, but some full text access is available.
Google Books enables you to search for books. It is possible to access selected pages from some books and full text access to some public domain (out of copyright) works.
Here are some resources that you may find useful when you are carrying out research.
If you enrol as a student at a university you will be able to access many subscription online databases which provide access to a wide range of resources such as journal articles and ebooks. License agreements permit the use of these databases to students and staff of the University only.
The Library Open Access Gateway is a specially adapted version of our Library Advanced Search. It enables you to locate open access resources which are freely available to all.
The recorded webinar 'Finding sources: tips for successful searching' provides an introduction to different source types, tips on preparing search terms, effective searching techniques and advice on finding sources using the Library Open Access Gateway.
Search the Library
Use the search box below to find Open Access resources
Access to academic peer-reviewed books.
Access to full text, quality controlled, scientific and scholarly journals.
Jisc Library Hub Discover exposes rare and unique research material by bringing together the catalogues of major UK and Irish libraries. In a single search you can discover the holdings of the UK’s National Libraries (including the British Library), many university libraries, and specialist research libraries.
The Access to Research service provides free, walk-in access to over 30 million academic articles in participating public libraries across the UK. This is available onsite at Lincolnshire public libraries. More details are available on the Lincolnshire Libraries Online Resources webpage.
For more information on Lincolnshire public libraries visit the Libraries in Lincolnshire webpage.
