Use the Library website to search for books and ebooks:
Try browsing the shelves for books on a particular topic. All books in the university library have shelfmarks, which are a combination of numbers and letters reflecting the books subject area and author. Books about History can be found at the following shelfmarks:
940 European History
941 British History
943 German History
944 French History
945 Italian History
946 Spanish History
947 Russian History
950 Asian History
951 Chinese History
970 History of North America
973 History of North America United States
980 General history of South America
Books about the history of a particular subject are shelved with books about particular discipline. For example, the History of Medicine is located at 610 within Medicine.
Please ask library staff for help if you are having any trouble finding a book!
The library has an enormous collection of e-books which you can access anywhere you have a data or wireless collection. Below are some e-book collections that may be particularly helpful for the study of modern history.
ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is a digital collection of over 5,400 seminal books in the humanities and related social sciences. Books in this collection have been recommended and reviewed by scholars and constituent learned societies of the American Council of Learned Societies.
Comprehensive and accessible essays covering literature and classics, philosophy, religion and culture, and music. Includes useful reference material, chronologies and reading lists.
Provides access to a huge collection of full-text eBooks across a range of subject areas.
On-campus:- You may see an OpenAthens login screen when accessing Ebook Central on-campus. See our FAQ - How do I login via OpenAthens?
Full-text eBooks on a range of subjects comprising the Academic, Business, Education, History and Nursing collections from Ebsco.
Access to 162 titles, published over two decades, on cultural encounters between the coloniser and colonised, the circulation of power through the production and organisation of colonial knowledge, and the construction of identity both at the heart and on the margins of empire.
Access to a collection of ebooks written by leading names in the field of Political Studies, which aim to examine and analyse the theories and practices of power and governance, from local to international level and examine the progress of people, behaviours, policy, events and government from the early 20th century to the present day.
If we do not have a book you need in the library, please use our Inter Library Loan service and we will do our best to help you obtain what you need.
Inter library loans are requests for items not held in our collections. These requests can include loans of books or copies of journal articles, book chapters or conference papers. Please note, there is a cost to the library for each loan or digital copy supplied, so only items essential to your research should be requested.
The inter library loan service is open to Staff, PG researchers, PG taught students, and final year UG dissertation students or those undertaking research project work.
A maximum of 20 requests per person can be supplied per academic year to PG taught students, final year UG students and those undertaking research project work.
A maximum of 40 requests per person can be supplied per academic year to Staff and PG researchers.
To request an inter library loan, please complete the form by clicking the button below.
Please note: Inter library loans cannot be renewed.
Requesting Inter library loans
Items lent by partner libraries must be returned by the due date and in the condition in which they are lent. A replacement fee will be charged to you for any lost or damaged books and this could be set by the lending library at the British Library standard fee of £214.50.
If you are unsure what you can request please contact the Content and Collections Team.
