Databases contain abstracts, journal articles and conference papers on specific subjects. The databases listed below are useful for Nursing, Public Health and Allied Health Professions.
EBSCOhost research databases allows you to search multiple databases for health resources. We recommend the following five databases listed below. You can search these individually or all five together via EBSCOhost Research Databases or access these via the library advanced search.
Multi-disciplinary journals, reports and proceedings.
Abstract and index database of articles on alternative medicine.
Full text for nursing and allied health journals with coverage dating back to 1981. Includes RCNi journals.
Access to authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
Abstracts and index of articles covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
High-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more.
MAH Complete - is a collection of over 30 journals, the UK's widest range of clinical nursing journals as well as leading titles in midwifery, dental nursing, pre-hospital care and veterinary practice. Includes the following collections: Inter-nurse, Inter-mid, Health Professionals and UK-Vet
Access to a ready, reliable resource for scholars and researchers, practitioners, teachers, and students to access classic, contemporary, and cutting edge scholarship in psychology, much of which is now available in online venues. As Oxford Bibliographies in Psychology expands, it will reflect changes and developments in this increasingly interdisciplinary “hub” science.
A free database of thousands of randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For every trial, review or guideline, there are citation details, an abstract and a link to the full text where possible.
Abstract and index database comprising more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Full-text access to scientific, technical & medical peer-reviewed journals and book chapters.
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature from scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and, more recently, also in the arts and humanities.
A searchable database of research evidence in the fields of speech therapy and speech pathology.
Abstract and index database of articles from academic journals covering the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
Electronic journals can be used for very precise searching within a particular journal or when you are looking for a specific article.
You can also use the electronic journals to check whether the full text of a journal article is available electronically.
You can browse electronic journals through BrowZine. You can use the search box to find specific journals in BrowZine or use the explore journals box to look at titles specifically relating to health.
Browzine is very useful to enable you to keep up to date in your research field.
