Databases provide access to collections of information such as books, journals, encyclopedias, etc. Some databases provide information in full [text] whilst others will only give the reference and an abstract.
You will need to use them when you research.
The advantage of using databases (rather than Google or Google Scholar) when researching is that you can be assured that the information you retrieve is from a reliable source.
The search box on the library website searches across a large number of databases in one search; however, there are some databases that are not included in the library website.
If you would like to search individual databases, please select from the lists on the key databases page.
Research databases contain abstracts, journal articles and conference papers on specific subjects. They should be used for searching around a topic and for when you need to conduct a more focused search than Search the Library provides. The databases listed below are useful for your course:
Research databases contain abstracts, journal articles and conference papers on specific subjects. They should be used for searching around a topic and for when you need to conduct a more focused search than Search the Library provides.
You can find journal articles via the 'Search the Library' area of the Library website; however, if you would prefer to conduct a more focused search you can select an individual database.
The databases listed below are useful for Agriculture and Horticulture. You can access them by clicking on the title link and entering your Blackboard username and password.
Enter keywords into the database search box. If you are struggling to find information consider alternative keywords. It may be useful to write a list of keywords. If you would like more information on how to use databases watch the tutorial on searching for journal articles using databases.
Peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences from the American Chemical Society.
This link opens in a new windowBritish (BS) and some International (ISO) Standards.
Access Update: You may need to install the File Open software in order to access and download files from BSOL. This is available from the BSI for off-campus users, and the Software Centre for on-campus users.
Please see How do I install FileOpen? FAQ for installation guidance.
Please see below link to Library website for 'Logging On' information.
This link opens in a new windowIndependent membership-based organisation carrying out research and development for the food and drinks industry. Access to publications, new technologies and food law bulletins, training events, factsheets, and the Campden newsletter.
Access to Campden BRI requires an additional log-in.
Access financial accounts of over 550,000 public and private companies in the UK and Ireland, from information received from Companies House. Records can be searched by company name, geographical region, SIC codes, number of employees, and by financial criteria such as turnover.
Help with logging in: Under "Find your organisation" search for University of Lincoln. Select this and you will be redirected to our standard log-in screen. Use your university email address and password.
Access a full-text database designed to support the informational needs of the food industry; including food science, food safety, processing, packaging, product-development, shipping, etc.
The FSTA database includes more than 1,400,000 records on scientific and technological literature relating to food, beverages and nutrition.
Access to the full text of around 120 consumer and essential market reports per year in the following areas: Automotive, Beauty and Personal, Drink, Food, Health and Wellbeing and Technology.
You will need to sign-in with your University email address and password (if you have not already done so) and type or select "University of Lincoln" from the drop-down list > click Continue > click "University of Lincoln" (you may have to do this last step a few times before it logs you in). You have to agree to the 'Conditions of use' before using Mintel for the first time.
Journal articles from a wide range of biology topics. Some full text articles are available. Includes the renowned Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
The most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
If you wish to access full text theses, please make sure the "Full text" option is ticked under the search bar.
full-text articles
Access full-text articles and some eBook collections published by the Royal Society of Chemistry covering all aspects of chemistry and material science.
Includes archive material dating back to 1841.
Full-text access to scientific, technical & medical peer-reviewed journals.
Abstract and index database of articles from academic journals covering the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
Access journals, reference works and current protocols covering a range of scientific, medical, technical and professional disciplines.
Research databases contain abstracts, journal articles and conference papers on specific subjects. They should be used for searching around a topic and for when you need to conduct a more focused search than 'Search the Library' provides.
You can find journal articles via the 'Search the Library' area of the Library website; however, if you would prefer to conduct a more focused search you can select an individual database.
The databases listed on the key databases page are useful for food manufacture. You can access them by clicking on the title link and entering your Blackboard username and password.
Enter keywords into the database search box. If you are struggling to find information consider alternative keywords. It may be useful to write a list of keywords. If you would like more information on how to use databases watch the tutorial on searching for journal articles using databases.
