Guides: Education: How to use databases to find journal articles

What are databases?

Research databases are ideal for:

When you need to conduct a more focused search than the library website provides and for searching specialist resources in your subject area.
Databases contain abstracts, journal articles and conference papers on specific subjects.
There is clear guidance given for each database on the topics it covers.

Education databases

The main databases that are suggested to use for Education are:

British Education Index, Education Source & ERIC - you can search all of these databases together via the EBSCOhost databases platform and choose to select the 3 relevant databases.

Taylor & Francis and Sage are also very useful databases to use to find journal articles for education.

EBSCOhost Research Databases

Access to all research databases on the EBSCOhost platform.
British Education Index

Index of British education and training periodicals, with developing coverage of national reports and conference literature.
Education Source

The world's largest and most complete collection of full-text education journals, this database provides scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers. It covers all levels of education — from early childhood to higher education — as well as all educational specialities such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)

Abstracts and index of periodicals in the subject of education.
- Database help guide

Other useful databases

Sage Premier

Provides access to all SAGE journals covering a wide range of subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine periodicals.
Taylor & Francis Online
Wiley Online Library

Access journals, reference works and current protocols covering a range of scientific, medical, technical and professional disciplines.

Further Databases

Statistics

UK Data Service – The UK's largest collection of economic, population, and social research data, including UK Census data.
Access note: Click on "Log in" and search for University of Lincoln from the list. You will need to register with the site before you can access the data.
Statista – Statistics and studies from more than 22,500 sources covering over 600 industries.
Access note: On-campus users have direct access. Off-campus users should log in through the University of Lincoln's library portal or use institutional access.

Psychology Databases

PsycARTICLES
Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology from the American Psychological Association. Coverage spans 1894 to present.
PsycINFO
The American Psychological Association's database of abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines. Coverage is from the 19th century to the present.
PsycTESTS
Professionally indexed, the PsycTESTS® database is an extensive collection of items associated with psychological measures, scales, surveys, and other instruments essential to the research needs of professionals, students, and educators across the behavioural and social sciences.