No, not all books are available electronically; the publisher decides if a textbook will be made available electronically and whether that book can be accessed online or downloaded.
The University of Lincoln Library does, however, have a large collection of academic eBooks. You can search for eBooks using the main search box on the library homepage or by accessing one of the eBook databases listed in the menu.
Academic eBooks are designed to be read on the screen. Please be aware that the look of an eBook and what you can do with it will vary by database.
Academic ebooks are designed to be read on the screen; however, some providers do give the option to download specific chapters or the entire book for a limited period of time:
| eBook database | Download options: |
|---|---|
|
Provides access to a huge collection of full- text eBooks across a range of subject areas. |
|
| EBSCOhost
Full-text eBook on a range of subjects comprising the Academic, Business, Education, History and Nursing collections from EBSCO |
|
|
Searchable access to a collection of full-text electronic books (e-books), across a range of subject areas. |
|
| BibliU
Access to a collection of full-text study skills guides. Allows you to search and make notes within books and sync across devices. |
|
Go to the Library website and search for a book:
If you find a book that is available electronically it will have a Log in to ebook here or View Online link at the top left:
Access the eBook by:
If you are struggling to read an eBook:
If you have any questions about eBooks, please email your Subject Librarian.
Ingredient Interactions by
Understanding interactions among food ingredients is critical to optimizing their performance and achieving optimal quality in food products. The ability to identify, study, and understand these interactions on a molecular level has greatly increased due to recent advances in instrumentation and machine-based computations. Leveraging this knowledge
Food Supply Chain Management by
Food Supply Chain Management Edited by Michael A. Bourlakis and Paul W. H. Weightman The food supply chain is a series of links and inter-dependencies, from farms to food consumers' plates, embracing a wide range of disciplines. Food Supply Chain Management brings together the most important of these disciplines and aims to provide an understanding of the chain, to support those who manage parts of the chain and to enhance the development of research activities in the discipline. Food Supply Chain Management follows a 'farm to fork' structure. Each chapter starts with aims and an introduction and concludes with study questions that students in particular will find useful. Topics covered include the food consumer, perceived risk and product safety, procurement, livestock systems and crop production, food manufacture, retailing, wholesaling and catering. Special consideration is also given to supermarket supply networks, third party logistics, temperature controlled supply chains, organic foods and the U. S. food supply chain. A final chapter looks at the future for food supply chain management. Michael Bourlakis and Paul Weightman, the editors and contributors to this timely and fascinating book, have drawn together chapters from leading authorities in this important area, to provide a book that is an essential purchase for all those involved in the supply of food and its study. Those involved in the food supply chain within food companies and in academic establishments, including agricultural scientists, food scientists, food technologists, and students studying these subjects, will find much of great use and interest within its covers. Libraries in all universities and research stations where these subjects are studied and taught should have several copies. Dr Bourlakis and Dr Weightman teach and research at the School of Agriculture, Food and Rural Development, University of Newcastle upon Tyne, U. K. Also available from Blackwell Publishing The Microbiological Risk Assessment of Food S. Forsythe 0 632 05952 4 HACCP S. Mortimore & C. Wallace 0 632 05648 7 Listeria, 2nd edition C. Bell & A. Kyriakides 1 405 10618 2 Salmonella C. Bell & A. Kyriakides 0 632 05519 7 International Journal of Food Science & Technology Published 10 times per year ISSN 0950-5423 Metal Contamination of Food, 3rd edition C. Reilly 0 632 05927 3
Nutraceutical and Functional Food Components by
Nutraceutical and Functional Food Components: Effects of Innovative Processing Techniques presents the latest information on the chemistry, biochemistry, toxicology, health effects, and nutrition characteristics of food components and the recent trends and practices that the food industry (e.g. the implementation of non-thermal technologies, nanoencapsulation, new extraction techniques, and new sources, like by-products, etc.) has adopted. This book fills the gap in knowledge by denoting the impact of recent food industry advances in different parameters of food components (e.g. nutritional value, physical and chemical properties, bioavailability and bioaccessibility characteristics) and final products (e.g. applications, shelf-life, sensory characteristics).
