Exam Success by
Doing well in exams at university is crucial to gaining a good degree. From the author of Studying at University, this new guide will equip students with all the tools they need to optimise their performance in exams. Packed with examples and practical exercises, the book explains key strategies for learning and revision. David McIlroy tackles problems ranging from confidence and motivation to anxiety control, to help develop the personal qualities which are vital for success. For anyone unsure why past exam results have not reflected their abilities, the book helps pinpoint strengths and weaknesses, and gives advice on how to improve performance. SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips, resources and videos on study success!
The Student's Guide to Exam Success by
Exams frighten almost everyone. Fear of failure can make students struggle with coursework, revision and exams. Allaying the anxieties that cause people to procrastinate, go blank, or underperform, this book helps you to understand your fears; stop panicking and start enjoying your work; and develop a balanced mental approach to your exams.
The Study Skills Handbook by
This is the ultimate guide to study skills, written by million copy bestselling author Stella Cottrell. Her tried and tested approach, based on over 20 years' experience of working with students, has helped over a million students to achieve their potential. When it comes to studying, there is no one-size-fits-all approach. This engaging and accessible guide shows students how to tailor their learning to their individual needs in order to boost their grades, build their confidence and increase their employability. Fully revised for the fifth edition, it contains everything students need to succeed. This is an invaluable resource for undergraduate students of all disciplines, and is also ideal for postgraduates, mature students and international students. It prepares students for what to expect before, during and after their studies at university. New to this Edition: - Additional material on writing skills, including proofreading, editing and writing for different assignments - New chapters on managing stress and student wellbeing at university, learning in diverse and international contexts and writing essays - More emphasis on reflective learning - Extended guidance on how to balance study with work - More use of visuals to summarise key learning points
How to Write for University by
Undertaking a writing project for assessment can be a challenging prospect for students of all disciplines and especially those new to academic writing in higher education. The unique 12-step approach in this book leads you through the different stages that apply to any form of academic writing - gathering relevant information, processing that information through effective planning, creating the text and developing your writing for future assignments including exam writing.
Study Skills for International Students by
This text provides support and guidance for international students of all disciplines seeking to familiarise themselves with and excel in higher education in the UK. From adjusting to a new social and academic culture to citing, referencing and avoiding plagiarism, this book will act as a quick-reference guide to help overseas students.
The Work-Based Learning Student Handbook by
The third edition of the original full-length handbook which caters to the specific needs of work-based learners. Compiled by work-based learning experts, this hands-on guide helps new learners to successfully navigate academia and get the most out of their university experience. Chapters show students how to make the most of learning opportunities at university and at work, and how to move from individual to organisational learning. Real-life case studies, useful tips and reflective activities are embedded throughout to enrich students' learning experience. This is the essential companion for all students on work-based learning degrees and degree apprenticeships across a range of disciplines, including business and management, health and social care, law, sport and exercise science and tourism. It will also be an invaluable resource for work-based learning tutors, workplace supervisors and organisations with an interest in work-based learning. New to this Edition: - Contains two new research methods chapters on planning practitioner projects and undertaking projects at work - Features new material on workplace ethics
Skills for Study is an interactive resource based on The Study Skills Handbook, and covers a range of academic skills including referencing, note-taking, critical thinking and exam skills. (See a full list of topics and modules covered).
Skills for Study is designed to help you develop your study skills at your own pace. Each module includes diagnostic tests, and exercises and activities to help you measure your progress, become more confident and get the most out of your course.
You will need to register with the site before you can access the content.
Revision techniques podcast: http://www.learnhigher.ac.uk/writing-for-university/academic-writing/revision-techniques-podcast/
Writing for exams podcast: http://www.learnhigher.ac.uk/writing-for-university/academic-writing/academic-writing-for-exams-podcast/
