Guides: TEST / DRAFT MASH Guide: Books and External Resources

Webpages

Here you'll find a list of the external resources we regularly recommend to students. These are the links to the general resources, these could be other universities or outside sources that we have found to be reliable and credible.

There may be paid tiers to some of these sites, we do not suggest that you pay for any subscriptions. If we are suggesting them, the free content they provide is what we are recommending.

StatsTutor Resources
Detailed Guides, Video Tutorials, and Worksheets for almost every area of statistics

Laerd Statistics Website
For the preview of the guides that Laerd offers, search the web for the specific test with the word Laerd: "Laerd Statistics [Name of Test]". These preview pages are often more than enough.

Books

Here are a few of the statistics books that we have in the University Library that you may find useful. The majority of queries we deal with are statistics based, the book suggestions reflect this.

Although there is a section for Subject Specific books, don't worry too much about the specific subject domain, the underlying statistics will be the same.

You may find older or newer versions than those shown on here, please go ahead and use whichever is in stock, they don't tend to change drastically from one edition to the next.

Subject Specific Books

Research Methods for Sports Studies by Ian Jones; Chris Gratton
ISBN: 9781317749899

Publication Date: 2014-12-05

Research Methods for Sports Studies is a comprehensive, engaging and practical textbook that provides a complete grounding in both qualitative and quantitative research methods.
Covers: SPSS
Avalible as both a physical book and an ebook
Research Methods in Human Computer Interaction by Jonathan Lazar; Jinjuan Heidi Feng; Harry Hochheiser
ISBN: 9780128053904

Publication Date: 2017-04-19

Research Methods in Human-Computer Interaction is a comprehensive guide to performing research and is useful for both quantitative and qualitative methods in computer science.
Covers: SPSS
Avalible as both a physical book and an ebook
Statistics for Sports and Exercise Science by Stanley Grant; Tom Aitchison; John Newell
ISBN: 9780132042543

Publication Date: 2009-10-07

Statistics in Sport and Exercise Science assumes no prior knowledge of statistics and uses real-life case studies to introduce the importance of statistics in sport and exercise science.
Covers SPSS, minitab and R
Avalible as a physical book
Quantitative Methods for Business by Donald Waters
ISBN: 9780273739470

Publication Date: 2011-03-17

Quantitative Methods for Business provides a simple and practical introduction to an area that students can find difficult. The book takes a non-threatening approach to the subject, avoiding excessive mathematics and abstract theory. It shows how to apply quantitative ideas to the real problems faced by managers.
Avalible as both a physical book and an ebook
Designing and Proposing Your Research Project by Jennifer Brown Urban; Bradley Matheus Van Eeden-Moorefield
ISBN: 9781433827082

Publication Date: 2017-08-01

Designing a study and writing up a research proposal takes time---often more time than actually conducting the study! This practical guide will save you time and frustration by walking you through every step of the process. For starters, it will help you hone in on a research topic - a huge (and hugely important) first step. Then it will guide you in developing the research question, designing the study, and choosing the best strategies for sampling and measurement.
Avalible as both a physical book and ebook
Research Methods in Psychology by Dennis Howitt; Duncan Cramer
ISBN: 9781292134277

Publication Date: 2016-12-13

Comprehensive, clear, and practical, Introduction to Research Methods in Psychology is the essential student guide to understanding and undertaking quantitative and qualitative research in psychology. This is the ideal guide for students just beginning and those moving on to more advanced research methods projects in psychology.
Avalible as both a physical book and ebook
Statistics in Psychology Using SPSS by Dennis Howitt; Duncan Cramer
ISBN: 9781292134215

Publication Date: 2016-11-01

Understanding Statistics in Psychology with SPSS 7th edition, offers students a trusted, straightforward, and engaging way of learning how to carry out statistical analyses and use SPSS with confidence. Comprehensive and practical, the text is organised by short, accessible chapters, making it the ideal text for undergraduate psychology students needing to get to grips with Statistics in class or independently.
Covers SPSS
Avalible as a physical book and ebook
Research Methods in Education by Louis Cohen; Lawrence Manion; Keith Morrison
ISBN: 9781315456515

Publication Date: 2017-10-12

This thoroughly updated and extended eighth edition of the long-running bestseller Research Methods in Education covers the whole range of methods employed by educational research at all stages. Its five main parts cover: the context of educational research; research design; methodologies for educational research; methods of data collection; and data analysis and reporting. It continues to be the go-to text for students, academics and researchers who are undertaking, understanding and using educational research.
Covers SPSS
Avalible as both a physical book and ebook
Research Methods and Methodologies in Education by Larry V. Hedges (Editor); Robert Coe (Editor); Michael Waring (Editor); James Arthur (Editor)
ISBN: 9780857020390

Publication Date: 2012-04-04

This work will be of immense value to those who are undertaking a significant post-graduate research study in Education. The array of impressive contributors writes in an accessible and clear manner, and brings the attention of the reader to both technical and conceptual terms. This straightforward and jargon-free book will provide students with the theoretical understandings, practical knowledge and skills they need to carry out independent research.
Covers SPSS, stata and MLwiN
Avalible as a physical book
Maths from Scratch for Biologists by Alan J. Cann
ISBN: 9780471498353

Publication Date: 2002-12-30

Numerical ability is an essential skill for everyone studying thebiological sciences but many students are frightened by the 'perceived' difficulty of mathematics, and are nervous about applying mathematical skills in their chosen field of study. Having taught introductory maths and statistics for many years, Alan Cannunderstands these challenges and just how invaluable an accessible,confidence building textbook could be to the fearful student.
Covers minitab and SPSS
Avalible as a physical book and an ebook
Starting Out in Methods and Statistics for Psychology by Victoria Bourne
ISBN: 9780198753339

Publication Date: 2017-04-23

Starting Out in Methods and Statistics for Psychology: a Hands-on Guide to Doing Research takes first year psychology students through the entire process of doing research in psychology, from exploring designs and methods, to conducting step-by-step, by-hand data analysis, and writing up theirfindings, all in a friendly and accessible way.
Covers SPSS
Avalible as a physical book and ebook

General Research Methods

Social Research Methods by Alan Bryman
ISBN: 9780199588053

Publication Date: 2012-03-21

In the fourth edition of this lively and engaging textbook, Alan Bryman presents students with an updated and all-encompassing guide to the principle techniques and methodology in the field of Social Research.
Covers SPSS
Avalible as a physical book
Understanding Research for Social Policy and Social Work by Saul Becker (Editor); Alan Bryman (Editor); Harry Ferguson (Editor)
ISBN: 9781847428165

Publication Date: 2012-05-15

Thoroughly revised and expanded, this new edition of Understanding Research for Social Policy and Social Work shows readers the importance of research, how to interpret it, and how to effectively carry out and report research of their own. This landmark textbook is an essential guide to the methods, approaches, and debates that are required knowledge for students, policymakers, and practitioners.
Covers SPSS
Avalible as a physical book
Research Methods in Health by Ann Bowling
ISBN: 9780335262755

Publication Date: 2014-01-01

This is a comprehensive guide to research methods in health. It describes the range of methods that can be used to study and evaluate health and health care.
Avalible as both a physical book and an ebook
Research methods for business students by Mark Saunders
ISBN: 9781292208787

Publication Date: 2019

This accessible and clearly written textbook provides a comprehensive and in-depth treatment of philosophical, methodological and ethical aspects of conducting business and management research. Illustrative case studies drawing on published research studies are used throughout and readers are given multiple opportunities to consolidate their learning through review and discussion questions, quizzes, and other exercises.
Covers SPSS
Avalible as both a physical book and an ebook
Experimental Design for the Life Sciences by Graeme D. Ruxton; Nick Colegrave
ISBN: 9780198717355

Publication Date: 2017-10-15

The careful design of experiments lies at the core of good research. Experimental Design for the Life Sciences equips you with the skills you need to effectively design experiments, making this essential aspect of the research process readily understandable.
Avalible as a physical book
Research Methods in Psychology by Jonathan A. Smith (Editor); Glynis Breakwell (Editor); Daniel B. Wright (Editor)
ISBN: 9780857022646

Publication Date: 2012-05-15

Research Methods in Psychology has coverage of the research methods that psychology students at intermediate levels need to muster, the textbook has now been broadened to cover the full suite of beginner level research methods too.
Covers SPSS
Avalible as a physical book
Introduction to Research Methods by Catherine Dawson
ISBN: 9781848033429

Introduction to Research Methods contains everything from developing an initial idea into a proposal, through to analysing data and reporting results
Avalible as a physical book and an ebook
Introduction to Social Research by Keith F. Punch
ISBN: 9781446240939

Publication Date: 2013-12-20

In the new edition of Introduction to Social Research, Keith Punch takes a fresh look at the entire research process, from formulating a research question to writing up your research. Covering qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods, the book focuses on matching research questions to appropriate methods.
Covers SPSS
Avalible as a physical book
Doing Your Research Project by Judith Bell
ISBN: 9780335215058

Publication Date: 2014

This book provides beginner researchers with the tools to do the job, to help them avoidsome of the pitfalls and time-wasting false trails,and to establish good research habits. It takes researchers from the stage of choosing a topic through to the production of a well-planned,methodologically sound, and well-written final report or thesis on time. It is written in plain English and makes no assumptions about previous knowledge.
Avalible as a physical book and ebook
Research Methodology by Ranjit Kumar
ISBN: 9781446269978

Publication Date: 2014-02-04

Research Methodology: A Step by Step Guide for Beginners has been written specifically for those with no previous experience of research or research methodology. Written in a logical and accessible style and providing helpful techniques and examples, it breaks the process of designing and doing a research project into eight manageable operational steps.
Avalible as a physical book
Discovering Statistics Using R by Andy Field; Jeremy Miles; Zoe Field
ISBN: 9781446200469

Publication Date: 2012-04-05

The R version of Andy Field's hugely popular Discovering Statistics Using SPSS takes students on a journey of statistical discovery using the freeware R. Like its sister textbook, Discovering Statistics Using R is written in an irreverent style and follows the same ground-breaking structure and pedagogical approach. The core material is enhanced by a cast of characters to help the reader on their way, hundreds of examples, self-assessment tests to consolidate knowledge, and additional website material for those wanting to learn more.
Covers R
Avalible as a physical book
Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics by Andy Field
ISBN: 9781526419521

Publication Date: 2018-01-08

From initial theory through to regression, factor analysis and multilevel modelling, Andy Field animates statistics and SPSS software with his famously bizarre examples and activities.
Covers SPSS
Avalible as a physical book
Research design: qualitative, quantitative & mixed methods approaches by John Creswell
ISBN: 9781506386768

Publication Date: 2018

This best-selling text pioneered the comparison of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods research design. For all three approaches, John W. Creswell and new co-author J. David Creswell include a preliminary consideration of philosophical assumptions, key elements of the research process, a review of the literature, an assessment of the use of theory in research applications, and reflections about the importance of writing and ethics in scholarly inquiry.
Avalible as a physical book
Research Methods and Statistics in Psychology by Hugh Coolican
ISBN: 9781138708969

Publication Date: 2018-12-03

The seventh edition of Research Methods and Statistics in Psychology provides students with the most readable and comprehensive survey of research methods, statistical concepts and procedures in psychology today. Assuming no prior knowledge, this bestselling text takes you through every stage of your research project giving advice on planning and conducting studies, analysing data and writing up reports.
Covers SPSS
Avalible as a physical book and ebook
Statistics Without Maths for Psychology by Christine Dancey; John Reidy
ISBN: 9781292128856

Publication Date: 2017-01-01

Highly praised for its clear, straightforward approach, Statistics without Maths for Psychology 7th edition provides a comprehensive and accessible introduction to statistics and SPSS. This widely used and trusted textbook is packed with examples, activities and questions to help you to test your learning and deepen your understanding in a practical and manageable way.
Covers SPSS
Avalible as a physical book and ebook