Use the Library website to search across multiple databases:
Choose from the different search options:
Find books - search for print books in the Library and some eBooks. Try searching by author surname and a few keywords from the book title, or the book title, if searching for a specific book. Use keyword searching to find books on a particular topic.
Find books and articles - search by keywords to find books, some eBooks and journal articles across multiple electronic databases.
Advanced search - this is the recommended Library search option to use when searching for books and journal articles as it provides more options to build your search and refine your search results. Search by keywords to find books, some eBooks, journal articles and other sources across multiple electronic databases.
You may also want to search some of the databases individually. These can provide different search options and not all of the database content is available through the Library website search.
Research databases contain abstracts, journal articles and conference papers on specific subjects. The databases listed below are likely to be most useful for Gender Studies, but you can find the full list of all the research databases which the Library subscribes to on the databases page.
Multi-disciplinary journals, reports and proceedings.
Abstracts and index of articles covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
Access the abstracts of journal articles from a range of different publishers. If the University of Lincoln subscribes to a listed journal, then many of that journal's articles will also be available in full text.
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Access to 80 journal titles from an archive of hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Project Muse provides full-text, high quality articles for the humanities and social sciences from over 120 publishers
Provides access to all SAGE journals covering a wide range of subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine periodicals.
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature from scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and, more recently, also in the arts and humanities.
SocINDEX with Full Text is a sociology research database. It contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
Access to full-text peer-reviewed journal articles (but not conference proceedings) published by Springer. Content from science, engineering, social science and business fields.
Abstract and index database of articles from academic journals covering the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
Access journals, reference works and current protocols covering a range of scientific, medical, technical and professional disciplines.
This link opens in a new windowAccess millions of pages of primary source collections across the entire portfolio of Adam Matthew Digital, spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries.
Digital collection of British and Irish women's diaries and correspondence written during the period 1500 - 1950.
Statista consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources for insights and facts across 170 industries and 150+ countries.
Access to the following collections of British parliamentary papers: 18th century (1688-1834), 19th century (1801-1900), 20th century (1901-2003/04 session) and Hansard (1803-2005).
The UK's largest collection of economic, population and social research data, including UK Census data.
Access note: Click on "Log in" and search for University of Lincoln from the list. You will need to register with the site before you can access the data.
An archival research resource comprising the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines, including Cosmopolitan (1886-2005), Essence (1970-2005), Seventeen (1944-2005) and others. These key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture.
Definitive collection of primary source materials about the contribution of women to the First World War in Europe.
Finding aid to Women's Studies resources in The National Archives, Kew, combined with original documents.
This link opens in a new windowOverton is the world’s largest collection of policy documents, parliamentary transcripts, government guidance and think tank research.
You will need to select the OpenAthens login option to gain access.
This link opens in a new windowPrimary sources exploring 100 years of youth culture through the scenes, styles, and sounds that forged them.
Access note: Click on "Log in via your University or Institution" and select University of Lincoln from the list to login
