You can search for ebooks on the library website:
option on the left of your screen.
Academic ebooks are designed to be read on the screen; however, some providers do give the option to download specific chapters or the entire book for a limited period of time:
| eBook database | Download options: |
|---|---|
|
Provides access to a huge collection of full- text eBooks across a range of subject areas. |
|
| EBSCOhost
Full-text eBook on a range of subjects comprising the Academic, Business, Education, History and Nursing collections from EBSCO |
|
|
Searchable access to a collection of full-text electronic books (e-books), across a range of subject areas. |
|
| BibliU
Access to a collection of full-text study skills guides. Allows you to search and make notes within books and sync across devices. |
|
Essential Microbiology and Hygiene for Food Professionals by
Essential Microbiology and Hygiene for Food Professionals is an accessible and practical introduction, providing the basic science relating to microorganisms in food. Assuming no prior knowledge of microbiology, chapters take a fresh and modern approach in helping you to appreciate the importance of microbiology and hygiene in assuring food safety and quality, and demonstrate the application of key principles relating to the presence, detection and control of microorganisms in foods. *Accessible and practical introduction to food microbiology and food hygiene *Assumes no prior knowledge of microbiology *Highly illustrated including colour photographs, charts, diagrams and cartoons to aid learning and retention *Student-focused with quizzes and exercises throughout, summary boxes, vignettes and a glossary of technical terms *Weblinks to further information on the Internet Written in a user-friendly style, this book is an invaluable text for all those studying microbiology and hygiene on courses in the food professions, including food science, food technology, culinary arts, catering and hospitality, nutrition, dietetics, environmental health and public health.
Food Preservation and Biodeterioration by
Food Preservation and Biodeterioration Food Preservation and Biodeterioration Biodeterioration is the breakdown of food by agents of microbiological origin, either directly or indirectly from products of their metabolism. Preservation on the other hand is the process by which food materials are maintained in their original condition or as close to this as possible. This second edition of Food Preservation and Biodeterioration is fully updated and reorganised throughout. It discusses how the agents of food biodeterioration operate and how the commercial methods available to counteract these agents are applied to produce safe and wholesome foods. With this book, readers will discover traditional methods and major advances in preservation technology. Both microbiological and chemical pathways are analysed. This topic being important to all producers of food, the readership spans food scientists across the industry and academia, particularly those involved with safety and quality.
Designing Food Safety and Equipment Reliability Through Maintenance Engineering by
Existing maintenance engineering techniques pursue equipment reliability with a focus on minimal costs, but in the food industry, food safety is the most critical issue. This book identifies how to ensure food product safety through maintenance engineering in a way that produces added value and generates real profits for your organization. Integrating food safety techniques with reliability and maintenance engineering techniques, Designing Food Safety and Equipment Reliability Through Maintenance Engineering details a maintenance design process that captures all conceivable critical factors in food manufacturing lines. While maintenance engineering normally starts with equipment reliability, this book starts with product safety to identify equipment criticalities and maintenance solutions. The text examines the problems currently facing the food industry and introduces powerful solutions to help food producers and consultants manage both food safety and manufacturing effectiveness. It presents an innovative tool for weighing food, human, and equipment criticalities and also describes how to maximize maintenance design outcome through the empowerment of equipment operators and their close cooperation with maintenance and quality specialists. Detailing how to design reliable task lists, the book includes case studies that illustrate the problems that low equipment reliability can create for your customers and your company's image. It outlines key performance indicators that can help producers and suppliers easily identify quality, availability, and productivity gaps. It also highlights critical factors that can help you avoid process bottlenecks.
Food Fraud by
Food Fraud: A Global Threat With Public Health and Economic Consequences serves as a practical resource on the topic of food fraud prevention and complce with regulatory and industry standards. It includes a brief overview of the history of food fraud, current challenges, and vulnerabilities faced by the food industry, and requirements for complce with regulatory and industry standards on mitigating vulnerability to food fraud, with a focus on the Global Food Safety Initiative (GFSI) Benchmarking Requirements. The book also provides individual chapters dedicated to specific commodities or sectors of the food industry known to be affected by fraud, with a focus on specific vulnerabilities to fraud, the main types of fraud committed, analytical methods for detection, and strategies for mitigation. The book provides an overview of food fraud mitigation strategies applicable to the food industry and guidance on how to start the process of mitigating the vulnerability to food fraud. The intended audience for this book includes food industry members, food safety and quality assurance practitioners, food science researchers and professors, students, and members of regulatory agencies. Presents industry and regulatory standards for mitigating vulnerability to food fraud including Global Food Safety Initiative (GFSI) Benchmarking Requirements Provides tools and resources to comply with industry and regulatory standards, including steps for developing a food fraud vulnerability assessment and mitigation plan Contains detailed, commodity-specific information on the major targets of food fraud, including specific vulnerabilities to fraud, analytical methods, and strategies for mitigation
International Food Law by
estation, habitat destruction and zoonoses; food naming and labelling; and food risk management. Throughout there is reference to an abundance of legislation, treaties, conventions, and case law at domestic, regional, and international levels, with particular attention to European, US, and World Trade Organization law and the work of the FAO. The book clearly demonstrates the necessity for reform of the global system of food production in the direction of a more sustainable and environment-friendly model. In its authoritative discussion of the relations among fields of law that are rarely discussed together - food law and the environment, food law and human rights, food law and animal welfare - this collection of chapters will prove a valuable resource both for officials working in food governance and security and for lawyers and scholars concerned with environmental management, sustainable development, and human rights around the world.
No, not all books are available electronically; the publisher decides if a textbook will be made available electronically and whether that book can be accessed online or downloaded.
If there is a book on your reading list that is not available electronically it is because the academic responsible for that reading list thinks that it is important.
The Library does try to encourage academics to identify a chapter of the book as this can often be digitised under the Library's Copyright Licensing Agency (CLA) Licence.
