Databases provide access to collections of information such as books, journals, encyclopedias, etc. Some databases provide information in full [text] whilst others will only give the reference and an abstract.
You will need to use them when you research. The databases listed below on this guide are relevant to medicine.
The advantages of using databases (rather than Google or Google Scholar) when researching is that you can be assured that the information you retrieve is from a reliable source.
If you need help with finding information or literature searching, please book an appointment with the Learning and Teaching Librarians for Health.
Shared off-air recording and media archive service. Programmes can only be viewed in the UK.
You will need to register with the site before you can access the content.
The most comprehensive collection of authoritative official standards for the UK pharmaceutical substances and medicinal products. The BP is a vital reference tool for all individuals and organisations involved in pharmaceutical research, development, manufacture and quality control and analysis.
High-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more.
Access to authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology from the American Psychological Association. Coverage spans 1894 to present.
The American Psycholgical Association's database of abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines. Coverage is from the 19th century to the present.
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature from scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and, more recently, also in the arts and humanities.
Abstract and index database of articles from academic journals covering the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
Journals are scholarly publications that are published at regular intervals, such as weekly, monthly, bi-monthly or quarterly. Articles within journals have been written by specialists in their field and the aim of them is to share this knowledge with the rest of the academic community. There are many thousands of journals in medicine.
You can search for a recommended journal article (when the author(s), article title, journal title, volume, issue and page numbers are known) by going to the library website, clicking on the 'Find' menu and select 'Electronic Journals'.
Alternatively, try BrowZine, to easily browse, read and monitor current journal content from major academic journals either online or on your mobile device.
