Journals are regular scholarly publications which contain articles on specific subjects.
They are important in academic research for a number of reasons:
You can find journal articles through the databases listed below or by searching in the Electronic journals.
The research databases listed below contain journal articles, abstracts and conference papers that will be useful for Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Science.
Peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences from the American Chemical Society.
Abstract and index database of articles on alternative medicine.
Interactive 3D virtual models of the human head, torso, limbs and joints.
You can register for a Personal Profile to add customisation to your searching.
The most comprehensive collection of authoritative official standards for the UK pharmaceutical substances and medicinal products. The BP is a vital reference tool for all individuals and organisations involved in pharmaceutical research, development, manufacture and quality control and analysis.
Full text for nursing and allied health journals with coverage dating back to 1981. Includes RCNi journals.
High-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more.
Provides online access to some of the world's leading drug and healthcare references.
Access to authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
An online edition of The NEWT Guidelines for administration of medication to patients with enteral feeding tubes or swallowing difficulties. The NEWT Guidelines is a unique resource which aims to provide prescribers and other healthcare professionals with a single point of reference which draws together the available information relating to medicines management in patients with enteral feeding tubes or swallowing difficulties, and presents it in a practical fashion.
The Physical Sciences Data-science Service is a new National Research Facility which brings together tools and resources for UK researchers in physical sciences, including chemistry, crystallography, materials and related fields. It provides access to web-based data services which are freely accessible for academic users from the UK.
Abstract and index database comprising more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Access full-text articles and some eBook collections published by the Royal Society of Chemistry covering all aspects of chemistry and material science.
Includes archive material dating back to 1841.
Full-text access to scientific, technical & medical peer-reviewed journals and book chapters.
Abstract and index database of articles from academic journals covering the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
Access journals, reference works and current protocols covering a range of scientific, medical, technical and professional disciplines.
You can browse electronic journals through BrowZine. You can use the search box to find specific journals in BrowZine or use the explore journals box to look at titles specifically relating to health.
Browzine is very useful to enable you to keep up to date in your research field.
A good way of keeping up-to-date with current research is to subscribe to alerts from your favourite journals.
JournalTOCs is a free service which allows you to set up alerts to any new articles published in Pharmaceutical journals.
See the following links for a selection of new articles published in Nature Reviews Drug Discovery available via the Library website:
