Students:
Your Library card is the student ID card issued to you at enrolment. This card identifies you as a student of the University and you need to bring it with you every time you visit the Library.
University Staff:
Members of staff have a library account created automatically and your library card is your staff ID card. If you require an in-depth introduction to the Library and the research services that we offer please contact the Academic Subject Librarian for your subject area.
Alumni:
If you are a graduate of the University of Lincoln you are entitled to join the Library as an associate reader, free of charge. Alumni members are able to borrow up to six books at a time, but other library services, including online access to resources, are not available. Please complete the associate reader application form to apply.
You may find this guide on using free resources after graduating helpful for accessing online content.
Sconul users:
If you are a student at another UK University, you could use our library by applying through the Sconul scheme. There are two stages to the application process:
At busy times of the year, particularly around exam time, we may suspend the associate reader application process and restrict use of our libraries by associate readers and visitors to prioritise student access to study space and resources.
Books can be taken out in the following ways:
**You will not be able to borrow any items if you owe more than £10 in fines or have overdue books.
Once you have an item on loan check your Library Account to see when it is due for return. Remember that others can request an item you have on loan so this may change how long you can keep it. If this happens we'll email you with a new return date.
| User type | Number of loans |
|---|---|
| Undergraduate | 60 |
| Postgraduate | 60 |
| Staff | 60 |
| 6 |
*External borrowers include registered Associate, Alumni and SCONUL access users.
If you are not sure what borrower type you are please contact us.
We've simplified our loans and now have three types:
| Item type | |
|---|---|
| Reference | For use in the Library |
| Four week loans | General reading |
| Laptop loans* | 3 hour loans |
*Laptops are available from the self-service cabinet on the ground floor of the University Library.
A collection providing quick and easy reference access to library items that have been identified as high demand from both the University and Ross Libraries. This collection will also improve access to items that are not available electronically.
The High Demand Collection (HDC) is located on the ground floor of the University Library (in the reservations/dissertations area). All items in this collection are for reference only. There is a photocopier/scanner in this area if you wish to copy or scan a particular chapter. Please note that due to Copyright regulations you can copy or scan one chapter or 10% (whichever is greater).
Items in this collection have a High Demand sticker and are identified on the library website with the following note:
High Demand Collection copy is reference only and held in the High Demand Collection on the ground floor of the main library
To ensure availability throughout the day, please return items to this area when you have finished with them.
If the library only has limited copies of an item and you anticipate high demand, you can request that a copy is added to the High Demand Collection (HDC). The HDC is for reference only, so it means that there will always be a copy available in the library. If you would like an item added to the HDC please contact your Academic Subject Librarian.
Unless the item is reserved by another user or returned we'll renew it for you automatically.
The item will not renew if:
If you need the item again, you can also reserve it via the library website. This will add your details to a queue and you'll receive a notification when it's your turn.
Recalled items are charged at 25p per day, to a maximum of £10 per item.
If you are going away, we recommend you return your items before you leave or be prepared to send them back to us via post: if they are requested by another user we won't be able to renew them.
You can reserve your books online to collect in person. Depending on where you have asked for your reservations to be collected, you can collect your reservations from either the ground floor of the University Library or the reservation shelf in The Ross Library.
To reserve your books:
You can have four active reservations at any one time: once those reservations have been satisfied you are welcome to request a further four items.
*** DISTANCE LEARNERS - please follow the same process as above and we will automatically post your books to you. We do not post books outside of the UK.
We have created a handy "how to" video covering both the libraries on the Brayford campus.
Reservations may be placed on items that are out on loan to another borrower, at another campus or even on the shelf.
If a reservation is placed on an item which is out on loan then it will not renew and the one due back first will receive a recall email.
Reservations cannot be placed on:
You can have 4 active reservations at a time. Once these have been satisfied you can reserve another 4.
All books, including inter-library loans can be returned at either the University Library or The Ross Library.
To return a book at the University Library:
To return a book at The Ross Library:
If you need any help at all just ask a member of staff who will be more than happy to help.
Yes. We charge fines on any items which are not returned by the due date and have not been automatically renewed.
Another user may reserve an item that you have out on loan. If this happens, you will receive an email notifying you that an item has not been renewed or an item has been recalled. Please watch for emails from the Library.
Failure to return a reserved item by the due date given will incur a 25p per day late return fine.
Laptops returned after the due time will incur a 25p per hour late return fine.
Yes, you are welcome to bring your child(ren) to the Library providing they are fully supervised at all times. Our staff can help with opening the entry gates to let children through and recommending a suitable space to work in.
You can ask at the Enquiries Desk to borrow our Junior Activity Packs, which include colouring, fidget toys, and puzzle games to help keep your child busy while you study.
We also run a Family Friendly Study Space at certain times during the term and on Saturdays.
University Library telephone number: : +44 (0) 1522 88 6222 (University Library)
The Ross Library for Biomedical & Health Sciences: : +44 (0) 1522 83 5252 (The Ross Library for Biomedical & Health Sciences)
NCFM Library telephone number: : +44 (0) 1406 49 3046 (NCFM Library)
University Library email address: : library@lincoln.ac.uk
University Library Facebook account: : UOLLibrary
University Library Instagram account: : uollibrary
The Library holds the Customer Service Excellence accreditation. This award is regularly reassessed and we hope it demonstrates a clear commitment to providing excellent customer service.
Find out more about the Customer Service Excellence award
