A journal is a periodical publication in which scholarship relating to a particular academic discipline is published. Content typically takes the form of articles presenting original research, review articles, or book reviews.
Journals are important in academic research for a number of reasons:
1. Search the Library Website for your keywords. The Library Website searches many of the databases the University Library subscribes to and is the best place to start your research.
2. If you don't find the results you need from the Library Website you could search the databases individually. This page shows some of the databases likely to be most useful for the School of Computing, but you can find the full list here on the databases page.
3. Do you already know the name of a journal? Type the title of the journal in Electronic Journals A-Z: it will show you if we have full-text access to the e-journal.
The University Library subscribes to a selection of database collections - the majority are research databases containing journal articles, but we also have ebook collections, film, tv & newspaper archives, and other specialist information.
Research databases contain:
Abstracts (short descriptions of what an article or paper is about)
Full journal articles (if they are part of the subscription package)
Conference papers on specific subjects
Browzine allows you to create your own online bookshelf from our collection of journals.
It's available through the 'Find' menu on the Library website - select 'Browse electronic journals' from the drop-down menu and start building your bookshelf.
A good way of keeping up-to-date with current research is to subscribe to alerts from your favourite journals.
JournalTOCs is a free service which allows you to set up alerts to any new articles published in Computer Science related journals.
The research databases listed below contain journal articles, abstracts and conference papers that will be useful for Computing & Games.
Use the search box on the library website to search across a selection of databases or access them individually by clicking on the title links and, if asked, entering your University email and password.
Full-text access to articles and conference proceedings from the Association for Computing Machinery. Includes index of abstracts and citations from other major publishers in computing.
Access to the Emerald database of full-text articles covering a range of subjects from management, marketing, economics, engineering, health and social care and tourism.
Abstract and index database of articles from academic journals covering the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
Access to full-text peer-reviewed journal articles (but not conference proceedings) published by Springer. Content from science, engineering, social science and business fields.
Full-text access to scientific, technical & medical peer-reviewed journals and book chapters.
New articles published in the Communications of the ACM.
