Guides: Journalism, Communications and Public Relations: Newspapers

Using Nexis Uni for finding newspaper articles

Online newspapers

We have online newspapers in a variety of formats and also with a variety of date ranges:

Some of our databases such as Lexis and Nexis include a relatively short archive, with title coverage extending back to somewhere in the 1980s or more recently, but coming up to the current day's articles. The articles found through Lexis and Nexis are both presented in HTML format.
We also have access to some newspapers in digitised fascimile format, so each page can be viewed as it would have been in the original paper. These titles tend to go back to the very first edition printed, but not up to the current edition (with the exception of The Daily Express archive).

Lexis+ UK Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Lexis+ UK Newspapers provides full text access to UK national and regional newspapers. Date coverage varies by individual title from 1980s to today.
For international newspaper content visit Nexis.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full text access to business information and major international newspapers including foreign language sources. Date coverage varies by individual title from 1980s to today.
The Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Access The Times of London from 1785 - 2019. The entire newspaper is captured, including all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos.
UKPressOnline (Daily Express) This link opens in a new window
Archives of the Daily Express from 1900 through the current edition, in full digital facsimile form.
- Database help guide
Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004 This link opens in a new window
This historical archive covers 1896-2004. Each edition is reproduced in full digital facsimile form. The Daily Mail from 2004 onward is available in Lexis Library.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
This database allows you to search across various archive collections including 19th Century UK Periodicals, The Times Digital Archive and The Daily Mail Historical Archive.
Financial Times (FT.com) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
When you register for Financial Times through the University of Lincoln subscription, you can access their full current website, but also search their archive of the print edition back to 1 April 2010. Go to Press Cuttings within the website for this search.
New York Times with Index (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the historical New York Times newspaper, 1851-2018.
Washington Post (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the historical Washington Post newspaper, 1877-2005.

British Library Newspapers

Newspapers - The British Library
The British Library holds over 34,000 titles from the UK and overseas, or 60 million individual issues. The newspaper collection includes the ongoing legal deposit collection of UK and Irish newspapers.
British Library Newsroom
British Library Researching Newspapers
How to get a Reader Pass for the British Library Collection
Access over 200 million collection items for free with a Reader Pass. Carry out research in the British Library Reading Rooms and access the online collections.
British Newspaper Archive
The British Newspaper Archive provides online access to local and regional newspapers from across Britain and Ireland, with more pages added every week. It is free to search and the first three pages are free to view when you register.
Which newspapers have been digitised?
This blog provides details of which newspapers have been digitised.

Local newspapers on microfilm

The University of Lincoln Library has a collection of newspapers on microfilm in the Reservations, DVDs and Dissertations area (there is a microfilm reader in this area). The collection includes The Lincolnshire Echo from 1976-2009.

The Lincoln Central Library also has a collection of local historical newspapers on microfilm.