Research databases contain abstracts, journal articles and conference papers on specific subjects. They should be used for searching around a topic and for when you need to conduct a more focused search than the Library Search provides. The key databases for English are listed below, but you can find the full list of all the research databases which the Library subscribes to on the databases page.
Contains works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies, criticism and reference resources.
Project Muse provides full-text, high quality articles for the humanities and social sciences from over 120 publishers
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Access to journal articles and e-books for the academic, professional and business communities.
Please be aware that we do not have access to all volumes of every title in this collection. Full text coverage varies by title due to publisher restrictions.
Abstracts and some full-text scholarly articles from Cambridge University Press on the humanities, social sciences and STEM displines. Includes the Digital Journals Archive.
Access journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities.
Access journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance.
In-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals. Includes “Treasures from Film Archives”; a detailed index of the silent-era film holdings of archives from around the world.
Abstract and index database of articles from academic journals covering the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
Multi-disciplinary journals, reports and proceedings.
Philosophers Index provides access to the full text of over 220 academic journals in philosophy, covering all major fields of philosophy, and including more than 500,000 indexed records.
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature from scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and, more recently, also in the arts and humanities.
This archive contains video and audio recordings of Shakespeare’s plays and poems made for radio and television as well as entertainment and information content related to the life and work of the Bard.
This archive is now available via BoB National (Box of Broadcasts)
You will need to register with the site before you can access the materials.
Digital collection of British and Irish women's diaries and correspondence written during the period 1500 - 1950.
Online edition of the complete works of Ben Johnson. Includes a comprehensive body of essays and archives necessary for full study of Jonson’s life, performance history, and afterlife.
High quality films of leading theatre productions and detailed analysis of play texts.
If you are experiencing any issues playing videos on Digital Theatre Plus using Chrome, please make sure you have the most recent version of the Chrome browser downloaded. Find more information about the browser update.
Drama Online has a growing collection of drama texts, audio plays and a video collection that provides an essential study tool.
Empire Online charts the story of the rise and fall of empires over five centuries from the explorations of Columbus, Captain Cook, and others, through to de-colonisation in the second half of the twentieth century.
Researchers can explore themes such as colonisation and decolonisation, missionaries, slavery, travel and travel Writing, religion, race, class and imperialism through a wealth of highly indexed manuscript and full text printed material.
Online collection of biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2001. Includes portraits, photographs and illustrations.
Access the complete text of the 20-volume second edition of the Oxford English Dictionary, plus the 3-volume additions series.
Access to substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated reference articles relating to communication and a number of wide-ranging subjects, from sociology, culture, critical theory, health, journalism, media and politics.
