Search books and journal articles using the library website: http://library.lincoln.ac.uk
A selection of new books for Nursing and Health & Social Care recently purchased by the Library
Law and Professional Issues in Nursing by
Nurses are more accountable than ever to the public, patients, their employers and the profession, so it is vital they have a clear understanding of the legal, ethical and professional dilemmas they will face in the course of their professional career. This book introduces the legal and professional requirements of safe nursing in clear, straightforward terms and helps students to understand how they apply to nursing practice. New to this edition #65533; Fully updated in light of the revised Code (2015) #65533; Full consideration of the new revalidation process #65533; Greater discussion of the law relating to end of life care
Communication and Interpersonal Skills in Nursing by
'This is an excellent book. It has been really helpful with my communication teaching.' Mrs Sarah Young, Faculty of Health & Social Care, University of The West of England The new edition of this well regarded book will be useful to you for your entire course. It introduces the underpinning theory and concepts required for the development of first class communication and interpersonal skills. The authors have provided a simple-to-read overview of the central topics that provide a solid foundation in this crucial area of nursing practice. Through scenarios and theory summaries the book will teach you skills that you can immediately implement on your placements and regular activities break up the text and encourage critical thinking and reflection - two vital graduate skills.
Safeguarding Adults in Nursing Practice by
All nurses, whatever setting, will encounter people who are at risk. Harrowing examples of abuse and neglect are frequently in the headlines and the nursing profession has a crucial responsibility to play in ensuring that vulnerable patients are cared for and safeguarded. This Second Edition answers all of the key questions including: What is neglect? What makes someone vulnerable? What role does safeguarding play? What does good safeguarding look like? Why can safeguarding fail? How can positive practice be developed? What are the professional and legal responsibilities facing nurses? This helpful resource will improve readers' understanding of the policy, practice, and research underpinning safeguarding, while also preparing them for their important role as an advocate for, and safeguarder of, the people in their care. Transforming Nursing Practice is a series created for pre-registration student nurses. Each book in the series is: Affordable Mapped to the NMC Standards and Essential Skills Clusters Focused on applying theory to practice Full of active learning features "The set of books is an excellent resource for students. The series is small, easily portable, and valuable. I use the whole set on a regular basis." --Fiona Davies, Senior Nurse Lecturer, University of Derby
Medicines Management by
Medicines Management: A Problem-Based Approach uses patient scenarios to explore pharmacology and medicines management. The book provides the pharmacological background, and examines the other factors, which enable nurses to provide care to the patient. It will equip the new nurse with the skills they need to problem-solve, prioritise and make decisions while delivering effective care.
Understanding Health Inequalities by
"Thoroughly updated and revised, this new edition of Understanding Health Inequalities, edited by Hilary Graham, remains a welcome and timely contribution. Replete with thoughtful essays on health inequities analyzed in relation to societal structure, social position and geography ... the volume provides important insights into how class, racial/ethnic, gender, and spatial health inequities are produced - and how they can be rectified. The world economic crisis launched by the implosion of unregulated financial markets in the fall of 2008 only serves to underscore the volume's central conclusion: that government regulation and intervention, premised on a commitment to equity, is essential for tackling health inequalities. Health professionals, students, and any and all working for healthy and sustainable ways of living will benefit from this collection." Nancy Krieger, Harvard School of Public Health, USA Understanding Health Inequalities second edition provides an accessible and engaging exploration of why the opportunity to live a long and healthy life remains profoundly unequal. Hilary Graham and her contributors outline the enduring link between people's socioeconomic circumstances and their health and tackle questions at the forefront of research and policy on health inequalities. These include: How health is influenced by circumstances across people's lives and by the areas in which they live How health is simultaneously shaped by inequalities of gender, ethnicity and socioeconomic position How policies can impact on health inequalities All the chapters have been specially written for the new edition by internationally-recognised researchers in social and health inequalities. The book provides an authoritative guide to these fields as well as presenting new research. Contributors Karl Atkin, Mel Bartley, G. David Batty, David Blane, Bo Burström, Danny Dorling, Anne Ellaway, Hilary Graham, Barbara Hanratty, Kate Hunt, Saffron Karlsen, Catherine Law, Sally Macintyre, James Nazroo, Naomi Rudoe, Bethan Thomas, Rachel Thomson, Margaret Whitehead
Person-Centred Practice in Nursing and Health Care by
Person-centred Practice in Nursing and Health Care is a comprehensive and practical resource for all nurses and healthcare practitioners who want to develop person-centred ways of working. This second edition which builds on the original text Person Centred Nursing, has been significantly revised and expanded to provide a timely and topical exploration of an important subject which underpins all nursing and healthcare, edited by internationally renowned experts in the field. Person-centred Practice in Nursing and Health Care looks at the importance of person-centred practice (PCP) from a variety of practice, strategic, and policy angles, exploring how the principles of PCP underpin a variety of perspectives, including within leadership and in the curriculum. The book explores not only a range of methodologies, but also covers a variety of different healthcare settings and contexts, including working within mental health services, acute care, nursing homes, the community, and working with children and people with disabilities. Key features: Significantly updated and expanded since the previous edition, taking into account the considerable changes in recent health care advancements, including the 'Francis' report Builds on previous perspectives of person-centredness in nursing and applies them in a broader nursing and health care context Includes a stronger exploration on the role of the service-user Shows the use of life-story and narrative approaches as a way of putting the individual's identity at the heart of the care relationship Includes learning features such as links to current practice developments and reflective questions
Try browsing the shelves for books on a particular topic.
Books on Nursing and Health & Social Care can be found at:
361.61 Social policy
362.1 Healthcare
610.73 Nursing
611 & 612 Anatomy & Physiology
616 Diseases
808.06661 Writing skills
The SCONUL Access scheme offers students registered at the University of Lincoln access to other UK higher education libraries.
Most part-time, distance learning and placement students (Band B) will receive access and potentially borrowing rights through the SCONUL Access scheme.
Click here for more information on participating institutions and to join the scheme.
Online application
You will be sent an email notification to say that your application is being processed and, when approved, you will receive an email confirmation. Please follow the instructions in the email confirmation.
Please note that this is only available for UK based students.
