Click on the images below to find out more.
Click here to find out who your Subject Librarian is.
The library provides support with the skills required to successfully complete your studies. In addition to this there are a number of books and online resources that you can explore.
Skills for study is an interactive resource based on The Study Skills Handbook, and covers a range of academic skills including referencing, note-taking, critical thinking and exam skills.
The Study Skills Handbook by
This is the ultimate guide to study skills, written by million copy bestselling author Stella Cottrell. Her tried and tested approach, based on over 20 years' experience of working with students, has helped over a million students to achieve their potential. When it comes to studying, there is no one-size-fits-all approach. This engaging and accessible guide shows students how to tailor their learning to their individual needs in order to boost their grades, build their confidence and increase their employability. Fully revised for the fifth edition, it contains everything students need to succeed. This is an invaluable resource for undergraduate students of all disciplines, and is also ideal for postgraduates, mature students and international students. It prepares students for what to expect before, during and after their studies at university. New to this Edition: - Additional material on writing skills, including proofreading, editing and writing for different assignments - New chapters on managing stress and student wellbeing at university, learning in diverse and international contexts and writing essays - More emphasis on reflective learning - Extended guidance on how to balance study with work - More use of visuals to summarise key learning points
Study Skills for International Postgraduates by
This is the definitive guide to successful study as an international postgraduate student. Chapters cover all the core academic skills, including time management, reading, referencing, critical thinking, doing research, and writing and speaking for assessment. The book features a wealth of examples, activities and checklists to help students hone their skills. The 2nd edition features: - New content on writing critical reviews and case study reports, managing digital sources and using electronic databases - Additional activities on referencing and critical thinking - Practical pointers to help students hit the ground running and quickly get to grips with the expectations and conventions of postgraduate study
Study Skills for International Students by
This text provides support and guidance for international students of all disciplines seeking to familiarise themselves with and excel in higher education in the UK. From adjusting to a new social and academic culture to citing, referencing and avoiding plagiarism, this book will act as a quick-reference guide to help overseas students.
Essential Study Skills by
Do you want to do better at university? Packed with study tips and handy activities, Essential Study Skills is a proven guide that shows you step-by-step how to study effectively and make the best of your time at university - whatever level you′re at. Whether you are going to university straight from school, a mature student, or an overseas student studying in the UK for the first time, you′ll find out how to: Sail through those tricky first weeks Get the most out of lectures by understanding how you learn Learn techniques for academic writing and research Stay cool and cope with stress Pass exams with flying colours Plan your career after graduation. Don′t miss in this edition... Even more tips and advice on learning methods, online learning and developing job skills - ensuring success throughout your course Additional case studies and student tips to help you apply the skills you need A companion website packed with toolkits and resources, to help you study smarter. The Student Success series are essential guides for students of all levels. From how to think critically and write great essays to planning your dream career, the Student Success series helps you study smarter and get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips and resources for study success!
Critical Thinking by
Shortlisted for the British Book Design and Production Awards 2018, Educational Books categoryDo you need to demonstrate a good argument or find more evidence? Are you mystified by your tutor′s comment ′critical analysis needed′? What does it really mean to think well - and how do you learn to do it? Critical thinking is a set of techniques. You just need to learn them. So here's your personal toolkit for demystifying critical engagement. I'll show you how to sharpen your critical thinking by developing and practicing this set of skills, so you can... Spot an argument and get why reasoning matters Sniff out errors and evaluate evidence Understand and account for bias Become a savvy user of technology Develop clear, confident critical writing. Designed to work seamlessly with a power pack of digital resources and exercises, you′ll find practical and effective tools to think and write critically in an information-saturated age. No matter whether you′re launching on your first degree or arriving as an international or mature student, Critical Thinking gives you the skills, insights and confidence to succeed. In your critical thinking toolkit Watch the 10 commandments videos - life rules to change how you think Smart Study boxes share excellent tips to whip your work into shape BuzzFeed quizzes to test what (you think) you know Space to scribble! Journal your thoughts, questions, eureka moments as you go Chat more online with #TalkCriticalThinking
Writing Successful Reports and Dissertations by
Are you unsure what your report should look like or how you'll ever finish it in time? Are you freaking out about starting on an extended piece of writing? Help is here! In this handy little book, you'll find expert guidance to enable you to produce a successful report or dissertation. With a focus on developing an effective writing style and argument, this book shows you, step-by-step, how to plan and deliver a perfect piece of writing to gain top marks. Open up to find advice on: What makes dissertations and reports distinctive Organising your time and materials Finding the right planning method for you How to structure your writing successfully Writing good sentences, paragraphs, sections and chapters. Read this book and you're on your way to writing a great report or dissertation! The Student Success series are essential guides for students of all levels. From how to think critically and write great essays to planning your dream career, the Student Success series helps you study smarter and get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips and resources for study success!
The Academic Skills Handbook by
This is your complete guide to acing your assignments and getting the most out of your time at university. Packed with tips, tools and a digital companion loaded with real-life examples, this book will help you: communicate your ideas with confidence and clarity watch your skills grow with diagnostic tools create your own study plan tailored to the skills you need know what your tutor is looking for and how to deliver turn your skills into success after university. This book is specially designed to show you where your strengths are and what you need to work on, so you get a practice plan that is perfect for your needs. It then arms you with the principles and practice to get ahead in your academic writing, presentations and group work. The Student Success series are essential guides for students of all levels. From how to think critically and write great essays to planning your dream career, the Student Success series helps you study smarter and get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips and resources for study success!
How to Succeed at University by
Achieve all your goals for university - whatever they are! How to Succeed at University provides straightforward, practical advice for anyone experiencing university life. Introducing the personal, academic and life skills you need to succeed - both at university and in today's competitive job market - you'll find help with managing your time and budget, and guidance on a range of study skills including skills for research and examination success. You'll also learn how to identify and develop key transferable skills that will stay with you throughout your professional life. Discover how to: Improve your employability prospects and give yourself the advantage in the job market Benefit from other students′ experience, with top tips and insider advice on succeeding in your studies Explore the uses of digital technologies in learning and assessment Use what you learn right away, with handy downloadable checklists and worksheets. Pragmatic, up-front and sympathetic, this is an essential companion for all undergraduate students, as well as anyone preparing for study at university. The Student Success series are essential guides for students of all levels. From how to think critically and write great essays to planning your dream career, the Student Success series helps you study smarter and get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips and resources for study success!
Academic Writing and Grammar for Students by
Grappling with grammar? Struggling with punctuation? Whether you′re writing an essay or assignment, report or dissertation, this useful guide shows you how to improve the quality of your work at university - fast - by identifying and using the correct use of English grammar and punctuation in your academic writing. Using tried and tested advice from student workshops, Alex Osmond shares practical examples that illustrate common mistakes, and shows you how to avoid them. You'll also discover guidance on: Writing structure - the what and how of crafting sentences and paragraphs Conciseness - how to express your point succinctly and clearly, showing you understand the topic Effective proofreading - the importance of the final 'tidy up', so your work is ready to hand in Referencing - common systems, and how to reference consistently (and avoid plagiarism). This new edition also includes separate chapters on critical thinking and referencing, exploring each topic in more detail, and learning outcomes in every chapter, so you can identify what new skills you'll take away. The Student Success series are essential guides for students of all levels. From how to think critically and write great essays to planning your dream career, the Student Success series helps you study smarter and get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips and resources for study success!
Good Essay Writing by
Writing good essays is one of the most challenging aspects of studying in the social sciences. This simple guide provides you with proven approaches and techniques to help turn you into a well-oiled, essay writing machine. Good Essay Writing demonstrates how to think critically and formulate your argument as well as offering water-tight structuring tips, referencing advice, and a word on those all too familiar common worries-all brought to life through real student examples from a range of subjects. Now in its Fifth Edition, this fresh update contains: New essay examples are analysed and discussed, so you have a clear understanding of what makes a good essay A new chapter on essay writing skills and other forms of social science writing, helping you transfer the skills you learn to different types of written assessments A new Companion Website providing additional exercises and examples, helping you practice and apply the skills This practical guide is an absolute must for everybody wanting-or needing-to brush up on their essay writing skills and boost their grades. SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips, quizzes and videos on study success!
Doing Essays and Assignments by
Have you ever been stunned by a low grade, when you were expecting an A or B? Are you struggling to make the jump from a second to a first? Doing Essays and Assignments gives you an insider's view on what tutors and professors really want when they assign essays and projects, and reveals how you can raise your game and achieve the best grades. Drawing on a survey of lecturers, and examples of real student work, this handy guide provides practical advice to help you not only understand what is expected of you, but also get ideas on how to deliver what your tutor is looking for. Providing a behind-the-scenes look at marking, find out how you can successfully craft the perfect written assignment, and discover tips and techniques on: Planning and deadlines, helping you manage your workload effectively Gaining higher marks through critically formed arguments Communicating clearly with the correct language, grammar, and expression Avoiding common marking pitfalls such as referencing and plagiarism. This new edition also reveals how to successfully navigate group work, literature reviews, and presentations to improve your grades. With valuable insight from tutors, and practical tips to apply to your work, you might just want to keep this book to yourself...! SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips, resources and videos on study success!
Your Undergraduate Dissertation by
In the second edition of this best-selling guide, Nicholas Walliman provides expert, step-by-step advice on managing and developing a successful undergraduate project. This book takes you through each stage of your dissertation, answering questions including: How do I choose an appropriate topic for my dissertation? How do I write a research proposal? What′s a literature review, how do I conduct it and how do I write it up? How can I ensure I′m an ethical researcher? What methods of data collection are appropriate for my research question? Once I have collected my data, what do I do? What′s the best structure for my dissertation? Full of examples from real student projects, interdisciplinary case studies and illustrated with cartoons to make you smile along the way, this book will tell you all you need to know to write a brilliant dissertation. The Student Success series are essential guides for students of all levels. From how to think critically and write great essays to planning your dream career, the Student Success series helps you study smarter and get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips and resources for study success!
