Use the Library website to search for books and ebooks:
Try browsing the shelves for books on a particular topic! Keep in mind that since medieval studies comprises a lot of different topics (literature, art, religious studies, and history, just to give a few examples), the books you will can be found all over the library. For example:
090 Manuscripts and Rare Books
180 Ancient, medieval, Oriental philosophy
189 Medieval Western Philosophy
270 Christian Church History
281 Early Church & Eastern Churches
477 Old, Postclassical Vulgar Latin
723 Architecture from ca. 300 to 1399
724 Architecture from 1400
820 English & Old English literatures
829 Old English (Anglo-Saxon)
875 Medieval and modern Latin literature, 500 A.D. onwards
As for the history classmarks, these are divided by chronology (go to the 930s to read about the ancient world including Late Antiquity) but primarily by geographical area. So if you are interested in medieval Europe, you'll be browsing the 940s, the 950s to read about the Far East, the 960s to read about Africa, the 970s to read about North America, the 980s to read about South America, and the 990s for all other areas.
If you are having any trouble finding a book on the shelves, please do not hesitate to ask for help.
ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is a digital collection of over 5,400 seminal books in the humanities and related social sciences. Books in this collection have been recommended and reviewed by scholars and constituent learned societies of the American Council of Learned Societies.
Comprehensive and accessible essays covering literature and classics, philosophy, religion and culture, and music. Includes useful reference material, chronologies and reading lists.
Early European Books traces the history of printing in Europe from its origins through to the close of the seventeenth century, offering full-colour, high-resolution facsimile images of rare and hard-to-access printed sources.
Provides access to a huge collection of full-text eBooks across a range of subject areas.
On-campus:- You may see an OpenAthens login screen when accessing Ebook Central on-campus. See our FAQ - How do I login via OpenAthens?
Following its first launch in 1998, EEBO now contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473–1700. More than 200 libraries worldwide have contributed to EEBO.
Access to medieval history documents within the books in the Medieval Sources series from Manchester University Press. The Medieval Portal provides links to other medieval material available on the Internet.
Historical sources from A.D. 300–800 translated into English. This collection contains 66 volumes that bring together a wealth of important early medieval texts in translation, with scholarship from leading academics.
The Cathedral Library has loaned a large selection of History books to the University Library (see list below). Many of these books are on medieval subjects, so medieval studies students are particularly encouraged to explore this collection.
The books are all for reference only and can be looked at in the Zibby Garnett Library on the first floor with a member of the Customer Services Team present. Please ask at the ground floor library desk if you would like to access them.
If we do not have a book you need in the library, please use our Inter Library Loan service and we will do our best to help you obtain what you need.
Inter library loans are requests for items not held in our collections. These requests can include loans of books or copies of journal articles, book chapters or conference papers.
The inter library loan service is open to Staff, PG researchers, PG Taught students, and final year UG dissertation students or those undertaking research project work. A maximum of 20 requests per person can be supplied per academic year.
To request an inter library loan, please complete the form by clicking the button below.
Please note: Inter library loans cannot be renewed.
Requesting Inter library loans
Following the removal of many restrictions put in place due to Covid-19, we are again able to offer an inter library loan service for physical items, in addition to the continuing digital service for articles and chapters.
Please allow additional time (up to 10 days) for your loan request to be supplied. Items may be restricted to in-library use only however we will advise you of this in advance where possible.
Items lent by partner libraries must be returned by the due date and in the condition in which they are lent. A replacement fee will be charged to you for any lost or damaged books and this could be set by the lending library at the British Library standard fee of £214.50.
If you are unsure what you can request please contact the Content and Collections Team.
