Critical Reading and Writing for Postgraduates by
Reading critically, and writing using critical techniques, are crucial skills you need to apply to your academic work. Practical and engaging, Critical Reading and Writing for Postgraduates is bursting with tools for analysing texts and structuring critical reviews, helping you to gradually build your skills beyond undergraduate level and gain confidence in your ability to critically read and write. New to this 3rd edition: Introduces a technique for developing critical thinking skills by interrogating paper abstracts Additional diagrams, exercises and concept explanations, enabling you to more easily understand and apply the various approaches A glossary, to help with understanding of key terms. Also new for this edition, a Companion Website provides additional resources to help you apply the critical techniques you learn. From templates and checklists, access to SAGE journal articles and additional case studies, these free resources will make sure you successfully master advanced critical skills. If you need to engage with published (or unpublished) literature such as essays, dissertations or theses, research papers or oral presentations, this proven guide helps you develop a reflective and advanced critical approach to your research and writing. The Student Success series are essential guides for students of all levels. From how to think critically and write great essays to planning your dream career, the Student Success series helps you study smarter and get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips and resources for study success!
Study Skills for International Postgraduates by
Destined to become a life saver for international students everywhere, this book provides clear, comprehensive guidance for students embarking on postgraduate study at a western university. Helping to maximise your chances of academic success, topics include challenges such as critical thinking, research, writing and speaking skills.
The Management of A Student Research Project by
A fully updated edition of this highly successful textbook reflecting the enormous changes that have taken place since the last edition.
Research Methods in Education by
This thoroughly updated and extended eighth edition of the long-running bestseller Research Methods in Education covers the whole range of methods employed by educational research at all stages. Its five main parts cover: the context of educational research; research design; methodologies for educational research; methods of data collection; and data analysis and reporting. It continues to be the go-to text for students, academics and researchers who are undertaking, understanding and using educational research, and has been translated into several languages. It offers plentiful and rich practical advice, underpinned by clear theoretical foundations, research evidence and up-to-date references, and it raises key issues and questions for researchers planning, conducting, reporting and evaluating research. This edition contains new chapters on: Mixed methods research The role of theory in educational research Ethics in Internet research Research questions and hypotheses Internet surveys Virtual worlds, social network software and netography in educational research Using secondary data in educational research Statistical significance, effect size and statistical power Beyond mixed methods: using Qualitative Comparative Analysis (QCA) to integrate cross-case and within-case analyses. Research Methods in Education is essential reading for both the professional researcher and anyone involved in educational and social research. The book is supported by a wealth of online materials, including PowerPoint slides, useful weblinks, practice data sets, downloadable tables and figures from the book, and a virtual, interactive, self-paced training programme in research methods. These resources can be found at: www.routledge.com/cw/cohen.
There are two types of postgraduate course, one being primarily taught and the other significantly research based. You may find that the specifics of your course shape whether you have a reading list or the amount or structure of material on your list. If you are new to the University of Lincoln and have not used online reading lists before (or have used a different reading list platform), familiarising yourself with the information about how to navigate your reading list and access materials on it will be useful to you.
Depending on your course, your tutors may expect you to use the library catalogue to find relevant academic readings, especially if your course has a significant research element. Getting used to doing independent research can take some adjustment, so remember that your subject librarian is here to help you make the most of what the library has to offer.
You can find further information about who your subject librarian is and how to book an appointment here.
Postgraduate students are also encouraged to seek support from the library’s Writing Development team and the Math and Stats Help service:
The workshops listed under this theme provide a wide range of skills and knowledge in becoming an effective researcher. They will allow you to directly apply new learning to individual research projects as well as refresh your skills in areas you are familiar.
A fully updated edition of this highly successful textbook reflecting the enormous changes that have taken place since the last edition.
This book covers the whole range of methods employed by educational research at all stages. Its five main parts cover: the context of educational research; research design; methodologies for educational research; methods of data collection; and data analysis and reporting.
The book begins by addressing issues you'll face in the early stages of writing a dissertation, such as deciding on what to research, planning your project and searching for literature online. It then guides you through different aspects of carrying out your research and writing up
Critical Reading and Writing for Postgraduates is bursting with tools for analysing texts and structuring critical reviews, helping you to gradually build your skills beyond undergraduate level and gain confidence in your ability to critically read and write.
This is the definitive guide to successful study as an international postgraduate student. Chapters cover all the core academic skills, including time management, reading, referencing, critical thinking, doing research, and writing and speaking for assessment.
Offering practical and constructive advice for students giving presentations, this book presents a detailed explanation of how to conduct a successful presentation and how to feel at ease with public speaking. The book includes: Real-life examples illustrating how to achieve an effective presentation
This book will guide the student through all of the key areas that they will need to deliver a successful research project, providing practical guidance, examples and hints and tips for success on many areas.
