Distance learners can request up to 4 items at a time via the postal loan service. Items can be posted to addresses in the UK, Europe and BFPO (excluding the Falkland Islands) and are sent using Royal Mail Signed For to the address on your Library account.*
The Library is unable to post Inter-Library Loan requests outside the UK.
If you use the postal loan service, you are responsible for the books from the point that you receive them until they are checked back into the Library so it is recommended that you return them via a postal tracking service.
You will be sent a four week loan book. Four week loans may be recalled so please keep an eye on your university email account as any recall or renew notification will be sent there. Please note your book will automatically renew unless it is in high demand and has been reserved by another user.
You will be sent an email 2 days before the due date to state whether the item has been renewed.
The book will not renew if:
Failure to return a reserved item by the due date given will incur a 50p per day late return fine.
Before requesting a postal loan, please check if we have an electronic version. We encourage students to use e-books but if this is not feasible please request the item via the Library website.
Please note: books will automatically be sent out in the post to Distance Learners at their home address. If you do not want your books posted you will need to place a reservation and then email holbeachlibrary@lincoln.ac.uk to inform them that you would like to collect or have sent to your work address.
Try browsing the shelves for books on a particular topic.
Books for Agriculture and Horticulture can be found at:
Dewey No. |
Book categories |
363.192- 388.68 |
Food Hygiene/SafetyHACCPEnvironmental Science |
401 - 616.927 |
ChemistryBiologyMicrobiology & BacteriologyHuman Nutrition/Food ScienceFood Poisoning & Food Hygiene |
620- 641.1 |
Farm managementHorticultureFarm Animals/ Welfare/ Anatomy &PhysiologyDairy/ Dairy ProductsFood LabellingCompositionNutritional Standards |
664 |
Food ChemistryFood Processing TechnologyFood ScienceFood EngineeringFood Process EngineeringFood Microbiology |
Fresh-Cut Fruits and Vegetables
by
Because they meet the needs of today's consumers, fresh-cut plant products are currently one of the hottest commodities in the food market of industrialized countries. However, fresh-cut produce deteriorates faster than the correspondent intact produce. The main purpose of Fresh-Cut Fruits and Vegetables: Technology, Physiology, and Safety is to provide helpful guidelines to the industry for minimizing deterioration, keeping the overall quality, and lengthening the shelf life. It provides an integrated and interdisciplinary approach for accomplishing the challenges, where raw materials, handling, minimal processing, packaging, commercial distribution, and retail sale must be well managed. It covers technology, physiology, quality, and safety of fresh-cut fruits and vegetables. In this book, the chapters follow a logical sequence analyzing most of the important factors affecting the main characteristics of fresh-cut horticultural products. The most relevant technologies to prevent deterioration and improve final overall quality of fresh-cut commodities are described in detail. This book covers the basics of the subject from quality preservation, nutritional losses, physiology, and safety to industry-oriented advancements in sanitization, coatings, and packaging. It examines such novel preservation technologies as edible coatings, antimicrobial coatings, natural antimicrobials, gum arabic coatings, and pulsed light treatments. Minimal processing design and industrial equipment are also reviewed. With its international team of contributors, this book will be an essential reference work both for professionals involved in the postharvest handling of fresh-cut and minimally processed fruits and vegetables and for academic and researchers working in the area.
A Textbook of Agricultural Entomology
by
A full understanding of the biology and life histories of pest species is vital for all those involved in crop production and crop protection. This important new title provides comprehensive coverage of major insect and mite pest species, primarily in Northern Europe. Textbook of Agricultural Entomology is broadly divided into two parts. The first part covers the external and internal features of the major insect and mite pest families, while the second part provides detailed descriptions of major pest species including information on life history stages (vital information when considering control methods) and the crops which these species attack.
Structure and Function of Plants
by
Plant anatomy and physiology and a broad understanding of basic plant processes are of primary importance to a basic understanding of plant science. These areas serve as the first important building blocks in a variety of fields of study, including botany, plant biology, and horticulture. Structure and Function of Plants will serve as a text aimed at undergraduates in the plant sciences that will provide an accurate overview of complex plant processes as well as details essential to a basic understanding of plant anatomy and physiology. Presented in an engaging style with full-color illustrations, Structure and Function of Plants will appeal to undergraduates, faculty, extension faculty, and members of Master Gardener programs.
Herbicides and Plant Physiology
by
Herbicides make a spectacular contribution to modern crop production. Yet, for the development of more effective and safer agrochemicals, it is essential to understand how these compounds work in plants and their surroundings. This expanded and fully revised second edition of Herbicides and Plant Physiology provides a comprehensive and up-to-date account of how modern herbicides interact with target plants, and how they are used to manage crop production. In addition, the text: Provides a current account of the importance of weeds to crop yield and quality; Describes how new herbicides are discovered and developed; Examines precise sites of herbicide action and mechanisms of herbicide selectivity and resistance; Reviews commercial and biotechnological applications, including genetically engineered herbicide resistance in crops; Suggests new areas for future herbicide development; Includes many specially prepared illustrations. As a summary of diverse research information, this second edition of Herbicides and Plant Physiology is a valuable reference for students and researchers in plant physiology, crop production/protection, plant biochemistry, biotechnology and agriculture. All libraries in universities, agricultural colleges and research establishments where these subjects are studied and taught will need copies of this excellent book on their shelves.
Plant Pathology
by
This fifth edition of the classic textbook in plant pathology outlines how to recognize, treat, and prevent plant diseases. It provides extensive coverage of abiotic, fungal, viral, bacterial, nematode and other plant diseases and their associated epidemiology. It also covers the genetics of resistance and modern management on plant disease. Plant Pathology, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive resource and textbook that professionals, faculty and students can consult for well-organized, essential information. This thoroughly revised edition is 45% larger, covering new discoveries and developments in plant pathology and enhanced by hundreds of new color photographs and illustrations.
The library has the following loan types:
You will only be sent a four week loan book. Four week loans may be recalled so please keep an eye on your university email account as any recall or renew notification will be sent there.
Please note your book will automatically renew unless it is in high demand and has been reserved by another user.
You will be sent an email 2 days before the due date to state whether the item has been renewed.
The book will not renew if:
Failure to return a reserved item by the due date given will incur a 50p per day late return fine.
