Research databases are ideal when you need to conduct a more focused search than the library website provides. Databases contain abstracts, journal articles and conference papers on specific subjects. They are ideal for searching specialist resources in your subject area. You can use the library website for searching across multiple databases but for more specific searching please see the list below of databases that are useful for Safeguarding.
Use the Library website to search across multiple databases:
These databases are aimed at social workers but contain key resources for safeguarding practice
Resource containing expert-written, practice-related information adult care social workers.
Resource containing expert-written, practice-related information for child and family social workers.
This link opens in a new windowResearch in Practice offers access to learning opportunities, resources, and support for professionals in the social care, health, criminal justice and higher education sectors.
To Access, select the University Login option, search for University of Lincoln and then login using your University login details.
The databases below cover the humanities and social sciences.
Access to the Emerald database of full-text articles covering a range of subjects from management, marketing, economics, engineering, health and social care and tourism.
Access the abstracts of journal articles from a range of different publishers. If the University of Lincoln subscribes to a listed journal, then many of that journal's articles will also be available in full text.
Access to Oxford University Press journals. If the University of Lincoln subscribes to a listed journal, then many of that journal's articles will also be available in full text.
Provides access to all SAGE journals covering a wide range of subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine periodicals.
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature from scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and, more recently, also in the arts and humanities.
SocINDEX with Full Text is a sociology research database. It contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
Access to full-text peer-reviewed journal articles (but not conference proceedings) published by Springer. Content from science, engineering, social science and business fields.
Abstract and index database of articles from academic journals covering the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
Access journals, reference works and current protocols covering a range of scientific, medical, technical and professional disciplines.
Below are a selection of recordings to help you use various databases.
Recording showing you how to use the Social Policy and Practice database - this is an abstract database but often does provide links to the full text of articles.
Scopus is an abstract database but does provide a link to the full text. It is very useful for going one step further with your research, when carrying out your dissertation and when struggling to locate resources on a particular topic. It is very useful because of it's citation chaining. It can be tricky to use to find the right keywords, try a variety and remember synonyms. This is a practical recording of how to carry out a basic search.
Useful for legal information and cases. In addition please use Nexis and Lexis which are in the newspaper tab. These are also law databases.
Aimed at helping the busy practitioner, Practical Law provides legal updates, practice notes, standard documents, checklists and expert opinions.
Statista consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources for insights and facts across 170 industries and 150+ countries.
The UK's largest collection of economic, population and social research data, including UK Census data.
Access note: Click on "Log in" and search for University of Lincoln from the list.You will need to register with the site before you can access the data.
Please note these two databases listed below are from the American Psychological Association.
Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology from the American Psychological Association. Coverage spans 1894 to present.
The American Psycholgical Association's database of abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines. Coverage is from the 19th century to the present.
Abstracts and index of articles covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
