Guides: Dance: Finding articles in databases

Using databases

Research databases are ideal when you need to conduct a more focused search than the library website provides. Databases contain abstracts, journal articles and conference papers on specific subjects. They are ideal for searching specialist resources in your subject area. You can use the library website for searching across multiple databases but for more specific searching please see the list below of databases that are useful for dance.

Library Website

Use the Library website to search across multiple databases:

Search the Library website

Databases for dance

In addition to searching the library website, you can search individual databases directly: this can help you find the specific information you need faster. Below are a list of databases dancers have found particularly handy.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary journals, reports and proceedings.
- Database help guide
- Exporting to RefWorks
Humanities Index This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and index of academic journals, daily newspapers and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK from 1962 onwards.
- Exporting to RefWorks

Dance Heritage Coalition: Dance Treasures
A growing collection of essays with valuable bibliographies for books, articles, online resources and moving images for choreographers, dancers and companies (scroll down the page to see the list of subjects with entries).

ArtsProfessional This link opens in a new window
ArtsProfessional creates and curates the most relevant content for those with a professional interest in the arts sector.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The definitive database for Dance and Drama, this allows you to search primarily for journal articles, but also book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of dance, theatre, and performance.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A not–for–profit organization dedicated to helping the scholarly community discover, use, and build upon a wide range of intellectual content in a trusted digital archive. The University of Lincoln has full-text access to the JSTOR Arts & Sciences collections I, II, III & V.

Additional resources have been made available during the COVID-19 outbreak, these include full access to JSTOR Archives, Primary Source collections and more than 25,000 eBooks. This additional access will be available until June 2023.
- Database help guide
- Exporting to RefWorks
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for more than 260 international periodicals, plus full text for more than 100 of the indexed journals. Subject coverage includes dance, theater, film, mime, opera, puppetry, radio, television, storytelling, and video.
Project MUSE Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Project Muse provides full-text, high quality articles for the humanities and social sciences from over 120 publishers

Dissertation Databases

The library subscribes to a number of PhD and MA dissertation databases which you may find useful when writing your own dissertation or exploring a subject in depth.

DART Europe E-Theses Portal This link opens in a new window
Searchable index and access to open access research theses from European universities.
EThOS This link opens in a new window
Searchable index of UK theses with full text available to order.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Information and a searchable index of international electronic theses and dissertations, including some open-access titles.
Open Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Search and view open access theses and dissertations.