Guides: eBooks: College of Arts

College of Arts

The following eBook databases are particularly relevant for College of Arts students. All the databases provide full-text access. Please see the individual database descriptions below for more information about access and content.

Humanities eBooks

ACLS Humanities E-Books This link opens in a new window
ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is a digital collection of over 5,400 seminal books in the humanities and related social sciences. Books in this collection have been recommended and reviewed by scholars and constituent learned societies of the American Council of Learned Societies.
Project MUSE Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Project Muse provides full-text, high quality articles for the humanities and social sciences from over 120 publishers

How to access eBooks in Project Muse

Reference books

Click on the eBook databases for an overview or introduction to a particular humanities subject or theme.

Cambridge Companions Complete Collection This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive and accessible essays covering literature and classics, philosophy, religion and culture, and music. Includes useful reference material, chronologies and reading lists.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks are a series of books covering Classical Studies, Law, Music, Philosophy, Political Science and Religion which provide students and scholars with authoritative and up-to-date surveys of original research in a particular subject area. They offer a critical examination of the progress and direction of debates as well as a foundation for study and research.

Primary Sources in Translation

The eBook databases in the column below provide you with full-text online access to a wide range of texts (histories, poetry, plays, letters and more) from a range of places and time periods.

Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window The Loeb Classical Library, founded by James Loeb in 1911, continues the historic mission of making all that is important in Greek and Latin literature available to readers and includes accurate, literate, English translations. The authors in the Loeb Classical Library span fourteen centuries and every genre. Each work is classified by language, form, genre, subject, and date for ease of browsing and navigation
Medieval Sources Online This link opens in a new window Access to medieval history documents within the books in the Medieval Sources series from Manchester University Press. The Medieval Portal provides links to other medieval material available on the Internet.
Translated Texts for Historians E-Library This link opens in a new window Historical sources from A.D. 300–800 translated into English. This collection contains 66 volumes that bring together a wealth of important early medieval texts in translation, with scholarship from leading academics.

Early Printed Books

The library subscribes to a full collection of digitised English and European books dating from the very beginning of printing to the end of the eighteenth century.

EEBO (Early English Books Online) This link opens in a new window Following its first launch in 1998, EEBO now contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473–1700. More than 200 libraries worldwide have contributed to EEBO.
Early European Books This link opens in a new window Early European Books traces the history of printing in Europe from its origins through to the close of the seventeenth century, offering full-colour, high-resolution facsimile images of rare and hard-to-access printed sources.

Sources in Latin

The Patrologia Latina and Acta Sanctorum contain a wide range of texts in Latin.

Acta Sanctorum This link opens in a new window The Acta Sanctorum Database is an electronic version of the complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum, from the edition published in sixty-eight volumes by the Société des Bollandistes in Antwerp and Brussels. It is a collection of documents examining the lives of saints, organised according to each saint's feast day, and runs from the two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940.
Patrologia Latina This link opens in a new window Electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne’s Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855. It comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216.

eBooks