It also has information on referencing, developing essential study skills and what support is available in the library.
Use the menu on the left to find out more, or contact your Academic Subject Librarian using the links in the contact box at the bottom of the page.
The Advanced Search gives you the option to break down your search and select where you would like to search for your keywords. Access it by clicking on Advanced Search.
It is recommended that you use Google Chrome as your Internet browser when searching the library website
|
Starting an online course can be daunting. With so much information available it can be difficult to know where to start. Below are six essential actions to ensure you get the most from the library and your studies. |
 |
The best place to start is your online reading list which provides a list of sources recommended by your tutors. The reading list will also have links to where you can get full text access.
Access your online reading list:
Click here for more information on accessing and understanding your online reading list.
You can search for books beyond your reading list, but it is important to remember that as an online student you only have access to ebooks.
You can search for ebooks by:
Find the route that suits you. Click here for more information on searching for and accessing academic ebooks.
Before you start searching for journal articles you need to think about what you would like to find. Develop a search strategy (an organised structure of key terms). When you are clear on what it is that you are looking for, select to search using one of the options below:
Click here for more information on searching for and accessing academic journals and articles.
Take a look at Skills for Study, the essential online resource providing an interactive and personalised solution to help you develop your study skills.
Skills for Study is based on Stella Cottrell's Study Skills Handbook, and covers a range of academic skills including researching, note-taking, critical thinking, writing, referencing, and exam skills. Click here for more information.
In addition to this the library has a Writing Development team who can support you with academic writing. Click here to visit their website which provides help guides, recordings and links to book an online appointment.
In your academic work, when you include information from a source, for example a book, journal article, website, etc. you are required to acknowledge it so the reader can clearly distinguish between your own work and others. This is called referencing or citing.
The library provides support with referencing and has produced referencing handbooks for the different styles. To find out more about referencing and which style your school uses, click here.
The library can support you with the following:
Helen Williams
Senior Academic Subject Librarian
Supporting Distance and online learners in the Business School
Can I visit a library at the University of Lincoln?
If you live local to the University of Lincoln you can visit either the University Library, Ross Library or NCFM Library. As an online learner you are welcome to use the library for study space and the print collection for reference only.
To visit a University of Lincoln Library you will need to request a student ID/library card by emailing studentsupport@lincoln.ac.uk
Please include your student ID number, state that you are an online student and that you would like an ID card and where you would like it posting to.
When in the library, use Eduroam to log onto Wifi. You will asked to enter your university log in details (email address and password).
Can I borrow print books from the University of Lincoln?
Can I visit other university libraries?
The University of Lincoln participates in the SCONUL Access scheme which offers registered students physical access to other UK higher education libraries. Visit the SCONUL Access website for more information on participating institutions and to join the scheme.
To fill in the online form:
You will be sent an email notification to say that your application is being processed and, when approved, you will receive an email confirmation. Please follow the instructions in the email confirmation.
Please note that you will need a student ID card to be able to use this service. You can request a Student ID card from the Student Support Centre. Email studentsupport@lincoln.ac.uk with:
