Skip to Main Content
Libraries and Learning Skills

Distance Learners

Library information for students studying at a distance

What's in this guide?

This guide provides information on how to find books, ebooks, journal articles, and other resources relevant to business and management.

It also has information on referencing, developing essential study skills and the library support available to distance learners in the Lincoln International Business School (LIBS). 

Use the menu on the left to find out more, or contact your Academic Subject Librarian using the links in the contact box at the bottom of the page.

 

A photo of a woman at a computer with a blue strip down the side and the words Distance Learner library guide

It is recommended that you use Google Chrome as your Internet browser when accessing the library website

Where to start

Starting a distance learning course can be daunting. With so much information available it can be difficult to know where to go to find information.

Below are six essential actions to ensure you get the most from the library and your studies.

 Where

The best place to start is your online reading list which provides a list of sources recommended by your tutors. The reading list will also have links to where you can get full text access.

Access your online reading list:

  1. by clicking on the Reading list link in the relevant module site on Blackboard, or
  2. if you know either the module name or code, clicking on the reading list link and typing this information into the search box.

Click here for more information on accessing and understanding your online reading list.

You will be expected to search for books beyond your reading list. Distance learners have access to ebooks and, if you live in the UK, you can request to have print books posted to you. Please note that if you use the postal loan service, you are responsible for the books from the point that you receive them until they are checked back into the library. Click here for more information about the postal loan service.

You can search for print and ebooks by:

  1. going to the library website and using the search box (this will search for ebooks and print books so you will need to filter the results to ebooks only if you live outside the UK or do not want to use the postal loan service).
  2. using the Publication Finder. Type the title of the ebook into the search box and then use the drop-down arrow next to ‘All’ to select ebooks only
  3. searching the individual ebook databases.

Find the route that suits you. Click here for more information on searching for and accessing academic ebooks

Before you start searching for journal articles you need to think about what you would like to find. Develop a search strategy (an organised structure of key terms). When you are clear on what it is that you are looking for, select to search using one of the options below:

  1. Go to the library website and use the search box.
  2. Use the Publication Finder if you know the name of the journal that the article was published in.
  3. Search individual databases.

Click here for more information on searching for and accessing academic journals and articles.

Take a look at Skills for Study, the essential online resource providing an interactive and personalised solution to help you develop your study skills.

Skills for Study is based on Stella Cottrell's Study Skills Handbook, and covers a range of academic skills including researching, note-taking, critical thinking, writing, referencing, and exam skills. Click here for more information.

In addition to this the library has a Writing Development team who can support you with academic writing. Click here to visit their website which provides help guides, recordings and links to book an online appointment.

In your academic work, when you include information from a source (a book, journal article, website, etc.) you are required to acknowledge it so the reader can clearly distinguish between your own work and others. This is called referencing or citing.

The library provides support with referencing and has produced referencing handbooks for the different styles. The Lincoln International Business School uses the Harvard style of referencing. To find out more about Harvard and download the guides, click here.

Contact me:

Helen Williams

Senior Academic Subject Librarian

Supporting Distance and online learners in the Business School