Research databases are ideal when you need to conduct a more focused search than the library website provides. Databases contain abstracts, journal articles and conference papers on specific subjects. They are ideal for searching specialist resources in your subject area. You can use the library website for searching across multiple databases but for more specific searching please see the list below of databases that are useful for Social Work. We subscribe to three specific social work databases but the list of other databases will also be useful to use for your assignments.
Resource containing expert-written, practice-related information adult care social workers.
Resource containing expert-written, practice-related information for child and family social workers.
Research in Practice offers access to learning opportunities, resources, and support for professionals in the social care, health, criminal justice and higher education sectors.
To Access, select the University Login option, search for University of Lincoln and then login using your University login details.
The databases below may have articles with some relation to social work and cover the humanities and social sciences.
SocINDEX with Full Text is a sociology research database. It contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
Access to journal articles and e-books for the academic, professional and business communities.
Please be aware that we do not have access to all volumes of every title in this collection. Full text coverage varies by title due to publisher restrictions.
Abstract and index database of articles from academic journals covering the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
Shared off-air recording and media archive service. Programmes can only be viewed in the UK.
You will need to register with the site before you can access the content.
Useful for legal information and cases. In addition please use Nexis and Lexis in the newspaper section.
Statista consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources for insights and facts across 170 industries and 150+ countries.
The UK's largest collection of economic, population and social research data, including UK Census data.
Access note: Click on "Log in" and search for University of Lincoln from the list.You will need to register with the site before you can access the data.
Use the news tabs in Lexis and Nexis for news stories.
Lexis+ UK Newspapers provides full text access to UK national and regional newspapers. Date coverage varies by individual title from 1980s to today.
For international newspaper content visit Nexis.
Please note these two databases listed below are from the American Psychological Association.
