Guides: Pharmacy (MPharm): Finding journal articles

What are journals and why are they important?

Journals are regular scholarly publications which contain articles on specific subjects.

They are important in academic research for a number of reasons:

they are the main forum by which research is published

they can explore a narrow topic in depth

they contain current or recent research findings

they are often peer-reviewed so that research findings are checked by other subject experts.

How to find journal articles

1. Search the Library Website for your keywords. The Library Website searches many of the databases the Library subscribes to and is the best place to start your research. You may well find enough data that you do not need to search any other databases.

2. If you don't find the results you need from the Library Website you could search the databases individually. This page shows some of the databases likely to be most useful for the School of Pharmacy, but you can find the full list here on the databases page.

3. Do you already know the name of a journal? Type the title of the journal in Electronic Journals A-Z: it will show you if we have full-text access to the e-journal.

Library database collections

The Library subscribes to a selection of database collections - the majority are research databases containing journal articles, but we also have ebook collections, film, tv & newspaper archives, and other specialist information.

Research databases contain:

Abstracts (short descriptions of what an article or paper is about)

Full journal articles (if they are part of the subscription package)

Conference papers on specific subjects

BrowZine

Browzine allows you to create your own online bookshelf from our collection of journals.

It's available through the 'Find' menu on the Library website - select 'Browse electronic journals' from the drop-down menu and start building your bookshelf.

Electronic Journals A-to-Z

Use the A-to-Z to check whether the full text of a journal is available electronically - this is useful if you are looking for a specific article. N.B. Search for the journal title rather than the article title.

Electronic Journals

New articles

A good way of keeping up-to-date with current research is to subscribe to alerts from your favourite journals.

JournalTOCs is a free service which allows you to set up alerts to any new articles published in Pharmaceutical journals.

See the following links for a selection of new articles published in Nature Reviews Drug Discovery available via the Library website:

Useful databases for Pharmacy

The research databases listed below contain journal articles, abstracts and conference papers that will be useful for Pharmacy.

Use the search box on the library website to search across a selection of databases or access them individually by clicking on the title links and, if asked, entering your University email address and password.

ACS Publications This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences from the American Chemical Society.
- Exporting to RefWorks
AMED This link opens in a new window
Abstract and index database of articles on alternative medicine.
- Database Help Guide
Anatomy.tv This link opens in a new window
Interactive 3D virtual models of the human head, torso, limbs and joints.

Only 5 users at any one time.
British Pharmacopoeia (BP Online) This link opens in a new window
Official collection of standards for UK medicinal products and pharmaceutical substances
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text for nursing and allied health journals with coverage dating back to 1981.
- Database help guide
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
High-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more.
- Database help guide
MedicinesComplete This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to some of the world's leading drug and healthcare references.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Access to authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
- Database help guide
- Database help guide
NEWT Guidelines This link opens in a new window
Online edition of The NEWT Guidelines. Single point of reference drawing together available information relating to medicines management in patients with enteral feeding tubes or swallowing difficulties.
A username & password are required to access this resource:
Copy and paste the link into an incognito or private browsing window, or a different browser, and enter the username and password to access the resource.

URL: https://access.newtguidelines.com/
Username : lizard72
Password : pineapple
Physical Sciences Data-Science Service This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A suite of commercial databases and resources for working with chemical data and structures. Additional registration using a lincoln.ac.uk email address is required for some resources.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Abstract and index database comprising more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
RSC Publications Online This link opens in a new window
Access full-text articles from over 70 journals published by the Royal Society of Chemistry covering all aspects of chemistry and material science.

Includes archive material dating back to 1841.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to scientific, technical & medical peer-reviewed journals.
Web of Science (Web of Knowledge) This link opens in a new window
Abstract and index database of articles from academic journals covering the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
- Database help guide
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Access journals, reference works and Current Protocols covering a range of scientific, medical, technical and professional disciplines.

Pharmacy (MPharm)

Finding information for your assignment

Searching Tips