What are journals and why are they important?
Journals are regular scholarly publications which contain articles on specific subjects.
They are important in academic research for a number of reasons:
- they are the main forum by which research is published
- they can explore a narrow topic in depth
- they contain current or recent research findings
- they are often peer-reviewed so that research findings are checked by other subject experts.
How do I search for journal articles for my assignment?
There are two main ways to search for journal articles:
- Find it at Lincoln - the University Library's search facility will retrieve information from a selection of the Library's collections. Access it below or via the Library's website library.lincoln.ac.uk
- Databases - the University Library subscribes to a selection of databases providing access to abstracts, indexes and full-text articles. For more information on using databases, click on Databases (above) or go to http://guides.library.lincoln.ac.uk
What are databases?
Research databases contain:
- abstracts (short descriptions of what an article or paper is about)
- full journal articles (if they are part of the subscription package)
- conference papers on specific subjects.
Legal databases contain:
- EU and International material
- a selection of specialist books.
How do I search for journal articles using databases?
- Select the database that you would like to search (from the list below)
- Click on the 'LOG IN' link (if you are off campus you may be asked to enter your username and password)
- Click on the Journals tab, type keywords into the search box and click on 'Search'.
How do I search for newspaper articles?
The following databases provide access to newspapers:
- LexisLibrary (click on the 'News' tab)
Access LexisLibrary or Factiva Academic here, select the relevant database and click on the 'LOG IN' link.