You can search for ebooks on the library website:
option on the left of your screen.
Academic ebooks are designed to be read on the screen; however, some providers do give the option to download specific chapters or the entire book for a limited period of time:
| eBook database | Download options: |
|---|---|
|
Provides access to a huge collection of full- text eBooks across a range of subject areas. |
|
| EBSCOhost
Full-text eBook on a range of subjects comprising the Academic, Business, Education, History and Nursing collections from EBSCO |
|
|
Searchable access to a collection of full-text electronic books (e-books), across a range of subject areas. |
|
| BibliU
Access to a collection of full-text study skills guides. Allows you to search and make notes within books and sync across devices. |
|
Handbook of Food Factory Design by
Food manufacturing has evolved over the centuries from kitchen industries to modern, sophisticated production operations. A typical food factory includes the food processing and packaging lines, the buildings and exterior landscaping, and the utility-supply and waste-treatment facilities. As a single individual is unlikely to possess all the necessary skills required to facilitate the design, the task will undoubtedly be undertaken by an interdisciplinary team employing a holistic approach based on a knowledge of the natural and biological sciences, most engineering disciplines, and relevant legislation. In addition, every successful project requires a competent project manager to ensure that all tasks are completed on time and within budget. This Handbook attempts to compress comprehensive, up-to-date coverage of these areas into a single volume. It is hoped that it will prove to be of value across the food-manufacturing community. The multi-disciplinary nature of the subject matter should facilitate more informed communication between individual specialists on the team. It should also provide useful background information on food factory design for a wider range of professionals with a more peripheral interest in the subject: for example, process plant suppliers, contractors, HSE specialists, retailers, consultants, and financial institutions. Finally, it is hoped that it will also prove to be a valuable reference for students and instructors in the areas of food technology, chemical engineering, and mechanical engineering, in particular.
Food Processing Technology by
Food Processing Technology: Principles and Practice, Fourth Edition, has been updated and extended to include the many developments that have taken place since the third edition was published. The new edition includes an overview of the component subjects in food science and technology, processing stages, important aspects of food industry management not otherwise considered (e.g. financial management, marketing, food laws and food industry regulation), value chains, the global food industry, and over-arching considerations (e.g. environmental issues and sustainability). In addition, there are new chapters on industrial cooking, heat removal, storage, and distribution, along with updates on all the remaining chapters. This updated edition consolidates the position of this foundational book as the best single-volume introduction to food manufacturing technologies available, remaining as the most adopted standard text for many food science and technology courses.
Swainson's Handbook of Technical and Quality Management for the Food Manufacturing Sector by
This book is focused on the expansive and highly demanding subject of Food Industry "Technical & Quality Management". As the world's most vital industry "Food Production" is complex, multifaceted and continuously scrutinised. Food scares and product recalls, on national and international scales, demonstrate the persistent challenge to identify, monitor and control all hazards, and also address the increasing criminal threats of Food Fraud, Adulteration & Intentional Contamination. With the benefit of unique perspectives gained by working across Quality, Technical and Operations Management roles at all levels within the food industry, Swainson's Handbook of Technical and Quality Management considers the very diverse remits and particular challenges of those working to assure product Quality, Safety and Legality in the sector. This book provides insights and guidance on the "Applied Practice" of Industrial Quality and Technical Management, written from the perspective of the industry practitioner. "Knowing what to do is half of the challenge, but being able to then make it happen is crucial" - a fact which is often less well considered in food sector information resources. Split into two sections, the book first reviews generic aspects of Food Quality and Technical Management activities with particular regard to: Food Sector Challenges and the Role of Technical and Quality Management; Defining Technical and Quality Standards; The Food Safety and Quality Management System; Raw Materials and Packaging Supplier Control; Site Standards; Product Control and HACCP Considerations; Operations and Process Control; Personnel Control; Audits; Non-Conformance, Recall & Crisis Management; Managing the Technical Department. In the second part of the book Guest Authors share their expertise on a range of specialist topics, providing significant breadth and depth to the content which includes: Review of Third party audit schemes; Insights into supplying supermarkets with regard to good technical and quality management practices; Enforcement authority perspectives on the food manufacturing sector. Also covered are the specific sector challenges of food quality and safety assurance in Fruit and vegetables; Herbs and spices, Cereals, Baked products, Canning and "Cook - Chill" Ready Meals, Soups and Sauces. Compiled expertise of food sector specialists with extensive industrial experience. Edited by an industry and academic expert with over 25 years experience of technical and quality management in the food sector. Contains Technical and Quality Management information that is relevant to a wide range of sectors in the food industry. Also examines Technical and Quality Management practice in specific food applications and reviews relevant compliance standards.
No, not all books are available electronically; the publisher decides if a textbook will be made available electronically and whether that book can be accessed online or downloaded.
If there is a book on your reading list that is not available electronically it is because the academic responsible for that reading list thinks that it is important.
The Library does try to encourage academics to identify a chapter of the book as this can often be digitised under the Library's Copyright Licensing Agency (CLA) Licence.
