Try browsing the shelves for books on a particular topic. Books on Classics can be found in the following Dewey number ranges:
As you can see, Classics books can be found all over the library! Please don't hesitate to ask for help if you're having trouble finding what you need.
Use the Library website to search for books and ebooks:
ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is a digital collection of over 5,400 seminal books in the humanities and related social sciences. Books in this collection have been recommended and reviewed by scholars and constituent learned societies of the American Council of Learned Societies.
Access to a collection of full-text study skills guides. Allows you to search and make notes within books and sync across devices.
Comprehensive and accessible essays covering literature and classics, philosophy, religion and culture, and music. Includes useful reference material, chronologies and reading lists.
Provides access to a huge collection of full-text eBooks across a range of subject areas.
On-campus:- You may see an OpenAthens login screen when accessing Ebook Central on-campus. See our FAQ - How do I login via OpenAthens?
The Loeb Classical Library, founded by James Loeb in 1911, continues the historic mission of making all that is important in Greek and Latin literature available to readers and includes accurate, literate, English translations.
The authors in the Loeb Classical Library span fourteen centuries and every genre. Each work is classified by language, form, genre, subject, and date for ease of browsing and navigation
Oxford Handbooks are a series of books covering Classical Studies, Law, Music, Philosophy, Political Science and Religion which provide students and scholars with authoritative and up-to-date surveys of original research in a particular subject area. They offer a critical examination of the progress and direction of debates as well as a foundation for study and research.
Historical sources from A.D. 300–800 translated into English. This collection contains 66 volumes that bring together a wealth of important early medieval texts in translation, with scholarship from leading academics.
If we do not have a book you need in the library, please use our Inter Library Loan service and we will do our best to help you obtain what you need.
Inter library loans are requests for items not held in our collections. These requests can include loans of books or copies of journal articles, book chapters or conference papers.
In order to request an inter library loan, please fill in the form by clicking on the button below.
Please note: Inter library loans cannot be renewed.
Requesting Inter library loans
We are now able to offer an inter library loan service for physical items, in addition to the existing digital service for articles and chapters.
Some physical items may still be difficult to obtain and there may be delays in supply due to the ongoing restrictions in place with postal services and at other libraries. Electronic (PDF or SED) versions of articles, conference papers and single book chapters will continue to be supplied where possible.
Please allow additional time (up to 10 days) for your request to be supplied.
If you are unsure what you can request please contact the Acquisitions team.
