These databases contain journal articles, papers, and abstracts (short summaries) on specific subjects. The databases listed below are likely to be most useful for Classical Studies, but you can find the full list of all the research databases which the Library subscribes to on the databases page.
Access to International Medieval Bibliography and Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale, and providing bibliographic records of monographs, miscellanies, book reviews and articles from periodicals dedicated to the study of the civilisation of Late Antiquity to the Late Middle Ages (300-1500). Each bibliographical record is searchable by date, subject and place and provides a wealth of information from international research.
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Project Muse provides full-text, high quality articles for the humanities and social sciences from over 120 publishers
British Periodicals provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images.
Access to Oxford University Press journals. If the University of Lincoln subscribes to a listed journal, then many of that journal's articles will also be available in full text.
Abstracts and some full-text scholarly articles from Cambridge University Press on the humanities, social sciences and STEM displines. Includes the Digital Journals Archive.
Access journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities.
A bibliography is a list of books, articles, and/or chapters on a specific subject. Bibliographies can be made for a specific piece of writing (an essay) or developed around a particular subject. This subject can be a specific period of history (for example, the Middle Ages) or a specific geographic region (such as the British Isles and Ireland), or a specific theme (for example, LGBTQ* history). They do not always provide full text, so you may have to do a second search to find out whether the material you've found is available in the library.
Consulting a bibliography is a fast and convenient way to find appropriate secondary reading for your essay, assignment or dissertation.
Access to International Medieval Bibliography and Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale, and providing bibliographic records of monographs, miscellanies, book reviews and articles from periodicals dedicated to the study of the civilisation of Late Antiquity to the Late Middle Ages (300-1500). Each bibliographical record is searchable by date, subject and place and provides a wealth of information from international research.
The library subscribes to a number of PhD and MA dissertation databases which you may find useful when writing your own dissertation or exploring a subject in depth.
The most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
If you wish to access full text theses, please make sure the "Full text" option is ticked under the search bar.
Searchable index of UK theses with full text available to order.
Search and view open access theses and dissertations.
Biographical and thematic dictionaries can be a very useful resource when you are starting to get to grips with a particular theme or topic in Classical studies.
Access to the entire text of the Grove Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists with regular additions of new material and updates to the text, plus extensive image links.
Online collection of biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2001. Includes portraits, photographs and illustrations.
Access the complete text of the 20-volume second edition of the Oxford English Dictionary, plus the 3-volume additions series.
