Libraries and Learning Skills
Use the Library website to search across multiple databases:
Abstracts and index of articles covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
This resource was designed to address a diversity of interests, providing easy access to academic journals, magazines, trade publications and books.
Amongst the subjects covered are: Architecture, antiques, art and art history, interior and landscape design and much more.
Full-text coverage is available dating back to 1937, with more than 370 periodicals, and over 220 books. Plus indexing and abstracts for 780 academic journals, magazines and trade publications, and elective coverage for over 60 additional publications. An image collection in excess of 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others is also available.
Full-text articles of art journals. Abstracts and index of art dissertations and art reproductions.
The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture.
Abstract and index database covering international, scholarly and popular periodical literature on architecture and design.
This link opens in a new windowBloomsbury Architecture Library is a leading digital resource for the study of architecture, urbanism, and interior design. Its dynamic digital platform offers access to wide-ranging collections of text and image content, from architectural history to cutting-edge design guidance.
Shared off-air recording and media archive service. Programmes can only be viewed in the UK.
You will need to register with the site before you can access the content.
A collection of databases specialising in technical data, product / supplier information, and industrial standards worldwide. Access to the Construction Information Service (CIS), the Occupational Health & Safety Information Service (OHSIS), and the Environment Online Service.
Annotated references from design and craft journals published from 1973 onwards. Includes data on designers, craftspeople, studios and workshops.
Access to an image and reference database with more than 3000 projects from the last 30 years of architecture magazine, DETAIL. Each project described in the database is accompanied by a DETAIL project document (in German and English) which can be downloaded as a PDF.
Searchable index of UK theses with full text available to order.
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Access the abstracts of journal articles from a range of different publishers. If the University of Lincoln subscribes to a listed journal, then many of that journal's articles will also be available in full text.
A not–for–profit organization dedicated to helping the scholarly community discover, use, and build upon a wide range of intellectual content in a trusted digital archive. The University of Lincoln has full-text access to the JSTOR Full Archive Collection and a selection of eBooks.
Access to a video library of courses taught by recognized industry experts on a range of topics from using software and coding to marketing and design. Sign in to create playlists and watch clips or work through learning paths.
Full text access to business information and major international newspapers including foreign language sources. Date coverage varies by individual title from 1980s to today.
Access to the entire text of the Dictionary of Art with regular additions of new material and updates to the text, plus extensive image links.
The most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
If you wish to access full text theses, please make sure the "Full text" option is ticked under the search bar.
Online catalogue of material held in the RIBA Library, including an index to articles in over 300 of the world's most respected architectural periodicals.
Full-text access to scientific, technical & medical peer-reviewed journals.
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature from scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and, more recently, also in the arts and humanities.
Skills for Study is an interactive resource based on The Study Skills Handbook, and covers a range of academic skills including referencing, note-taking, critical thinking and exam skills. (See a full list of topics and modules covered).
Skills for Study is designed to help you develop your study skills at your own pace. Each module includes diagnostic tests, and exercises and activities to help you measure your progress, become more confident and get the most out of your course.
You will need to register with the site before you can access the content.
Access to journal articles and e-books for the academic, professional and business communities.
Please be aware that we do not have access to all volumes of every title in this collection. Full text coverage varies by title due to publisher restrictions.
Web site of the Timber Research and Development Association. The site includes detailed construction drawings, NBS specifications, timber species database, a technical library, and more.
Users can register for free resources
Access to UK television and radio data, including programme listings for more than 300 TV and radio channels from 1995 onwards. The data is available at least 10 days before transmission. Selected records are enhanced with extra information, including production credits.
Access to over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research in the UK.
Abstract and index database of articles from academic journals covering the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
You can now export references directly to RefWorks from Web of Science. Any issues, please see this FAQ from Clarivate: Web of Science: Disable pop-up blockers for Save to RefWorks
If you have details of an article from a journal and you are not sure how to get the full-text:
| Step one |
Check to see if we have the electronic version of a journal article on the Electronic Journals page (under the 'Find' menu on the Library website) |
|
Step |
If it isn't available electronically, see if we have it in print by doing a 'book search' on the Library website at https://library.lincoln.ac.uk (you can also narrow down by periodical/serial) - then go to the 3rd floor of the Library, locate and photocopy or scan the article you need. |
| Step three | If it isn't available electronically or in print, request it via the Interlibrary loans service at https://guides.library.lincoln.ac.uk/find/ills |
1. Identify main concepts and keywords. Search the main concepts first, then limit further as necessary.
2. Find Synonyms (Boolean OR broadens the search to include alternative keywords or subject thesaurus terms):
3. AND (joins concepts and narrows the search) :
4. Be aware of differences in American and English spelling and terminology. Most databases use American spelling and terminology as preferred subject terms.
5. Use Truncation (putting * at the end of a word stem will search all forms of the word). * within a word can be used to search both American and English spelling:
6. "...." (inverted commas) use for a phrase
Many databases allow you to set up an account and save searches.